top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Hopefulist

Your biggest challenge to new goals




What do you think is your biggest challenge when it comes to achieving new goals? It's actually your brain. Your brain is constantly working against building new goals. Why? Because your brain is wired for the path of least resistance. It's actually a defense mechanism that goes back to survival. The brain is most comfortable and feels most safe when it knows what is coming. When you start working on a new goal and create a new routine your brain goes crazy because it's not used to this new routine and it doesn't know what to expect.


This is when the excuses start popping up. The brain is literally creating these excuses and putting them into your brain because it wants you to stop the pursuit. That's why I love Jen Sincero and her book 'You are a badass'. One of the main sayings on her platform is 'your brain is your bitch'. What that means is you are the boss of your brain. Don't let it talk you out of new goals and bettering your life by letting the excuses it comes up with stop you.


Change is hard. We all know that. And your brain is literally afraid of it. It wants to protect your and it does that best by knowing how to handle everything that comes your way. Once you change that up it will do all it can to make things go back to normal. To the way it knows how to react.


This looks like when you start a new workout routine and you kill it the first few days then you start feeling a lack of motivation. You come up with excuses as to why you can't do it one day which leads to another, then another. And you get to the point where you say to yourself that you can't do this. You even question why you ever thought you could. That is your brain playing you. It doesn't want you to succeed! This is why change is so much harder than we ever thought it was. Your brain is literally working against you. But you are bigger than your brain. You are the boss of your brain. You can override what it is telling you knowing that what you are doing is for your greater good. And eventually your brain will relent and get used to the new you and figure out how to protect the new you. It just takes time.


I've had a really hard time getting into a daily routine when it comes to work. When I left my last radio job I started doing this podcast every day. Then I decided my time would be better spent focusing on other things and do the podcast just once a week. I actually did myself a disservice when I did that. It took me out of my daily routine of getting up early, getting my blog and podcast done and then having the rest of the day to do anything else that I needed to do. Since I have stopped doing the podcast daily I have fallen into some bad habits. I sometimes sleep later than I should. And when I do that it really throws my whole day off. I am out of sync and just kind of flail the rest of the day. There is no structure. I have to admit pickle ball has taken up a lot of my time in the last few years too.


But now I have gotten myself an actual job and that makes everything a little bit harder. The job is from home and the hours are minimal so it's really a great opportunity that I am thrilled to have. But that is just more competition for my attention. People often ask me why I still get up so early when I don't have to be at work. The truth is I like getting up early. I like being up when the world is so quiet and I have the whole day ahead of me. I am most productive in the morning. I get the most work done in the morning. I even tried sleeping in when I first stopped working full time and I found myself staying up to 11 pm most days and I just don't like staying up that late. I don't know why! I would much rather be up early and in bed early. So part of the trick is to know what you prefer and work around that. If you are an early bird like me than plan your day early. If you prefer to stay up late then know you will get to your goals and the work you need to do for them later in the day.


I personally can't seem to force myself to do much once 3 or 4 pm rolls around. Despite my best intentions I get involved in social media or a book and can't bring myself back to work. So I have two choices. I can continue to try to force myself to keep going which I can if I put my mind to it. Or just know that I only have until 3 pm to get all the work done I need to do each day. And honestly, since I get up at 4:30 I really don't need to still be working at 3 or 4 in the afternoon. That's a really long day. And you have to know when you've had enough. Rest is just as important as productivity. Because if you aren't resting enough you won't be able to be as productive.


I used to nap in the middle of the day and I have gotten out of that habit. I still do sometimes but it's not something I do everyday anymore. I prefer not to nap because it really takes up too much of my day. But then I will get tired earlier. Don't forget to take care of yourself. If you don't have your health then you don't have a whole lot so make sure to keep yourself healthy with eating the foods that will give you energy, be active when you can and get the proper amount of sleep.


When you start on a new path and set new goals make sure you make them attainable. Don't overshoot. It never works out well. Overwhelm will definitely take over and your brain will talk you right out of these practices. The only way to make them stick is to go slow and be intentional with them each day. This is all common sense, right? But is it common practice? We all know what we should be doing but do we actually do it? That is the real issue.


If you are looking to up your goal game I would love to help you. I have a program that will help you set and reach your goals. And most importantly, I will be your accountability partner. When you fall short I will be there waiting to course correct. If you are interested check out my website at hopefulist.com or shoot me an email at thehopefulist1@gmail.com.


If you liked this episode please share it with your friends. And please leave me a review. Just go to the platform you listen on be it Apple or Spotify or whichever app you use and give me a star rating. I would appreciate it so much.


Now go out and get those goals. And be Badass while doing it. You know I'm right here cheering you on.






6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page