top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Hopefulist

A life worth living


Here I am! This is me at 51. Is it just me or does 51 sound sooo much older than 50? I'm not just 50 anymore...I'm fifty-something! Ugh. As much as we rail against aging I always say it's better than the alternative. Yes, that would be death. But getting older ain't for sissies...that is for sure!


I thought it would be cool to talk about how our dreams and goals change as we get older. And how we still have plenty of time to do exactly what we want. Some people are good with exactly where they are in life and will be happy to coast for the rest of their life. That is not me though. I have so much more that I want to do and achieve! I started this business almost two years ago and it's not progressing as fast as I have hoped. But I'm still here. I'm still putting out this blog and a podcast every weekday. I'm increasing the people who see my page and who are in my group. I've got plans too. Lot's and lot's of plans. But I must admit there are times I think I'm getting too old to pursue these dreams. I look at my mentors like Rachel Hollis and Jenna Kutcher and they are much younger than me and so much more successful. But that doesn't mean I still can't make an impact. I tell myself all the time that there are people who want to know what I have to offer and that is what keeps me going.


There are so many people who have started massive success later in life. Julia Child didn't write her first cookbook until she was 50. Vera Wang designed and sold her first wedding dress at 40. Rodney Dangerfield was in his 40's before he got his first film role. People...we still have so much time! I like to think of it this way. If I live to be even just 80 years old, I still have 30 more years to live and be happy. 30 years to achieve my goals and make all my dreams come true. And to live out my later years in the fashion I plan to become accustomed to.


Stop thinking that you are running out of time. I know you think that when you consider a new challenge. We still have so much time left. And even if we don't, isn't better to leave this earth trying as hard as you can to fulfill your purpose than to never try at all? I seen people who have just thrown in the towel and watched t-v for hours on end to fill their day. I can tell you that will never make you feel happy or fulfilled. In fact, it will do the opposite making you compare yourself to others and feeling less than. Go explore this world in every sense of the word. Go off and have adventures. Or read more about things you may be interested in. Try new hobbies. Whatever you do, don't sit on your duff all day watching other people's lives. That is no way to live.


So, what is it you really want to do? Even if you want to become a doctor that will take 12 years to achieve...you can spend at least the next 18 years doing what you love. Figure it out as you go. But the most important thing to do right now is to get started. Take that first step down the path you are destined to follow. I know you can do it. I believe in you.


Happy Thursday! No podcast tomorrow but I will be back on Monday! Hope you all have a fantastic weekend and be safe in whatever you do. Now go out there and be badass. I'm always here, cheering you on.

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page