top of page
Writer's pictureThe Hopefulist

A list of JOY!


Personal growth week continues with doing more of the things you love. Going hand in hand with yesterdays blog about discovering new interests, you should have a few things already in your repertoire that you go to on a regular basis. I'm talking about your favorite things. After you come home from a long day, what is it that makes you feel relaxed, comforted and safe? Is it making yourself a good meal? Is it a glass of wine? Is it getting into your favorite jammies as soon as you get home? Is it lighting a scented candle? It can be anything that makes your day just a little bit better.


Here is what makes me feel ultimate happiness and comfort. I love my new lounge pants! Did I mention they have pockets?!?! I wear them often. I love having my dog by my side. I love getting a scented candle going or my warmer. I love my leopard print throw on my couch. It's so comfy and warm. It's never folded up unless we have company because I use it all day and night. If I'm on the couch, it's on me. I love when my husband gets home from work and I chat with him about how his day was. I love to get his dinner ready so it's waiting when he comes in the door. We then relax and watch t-v together for the rest of the night. He likes to take his pants off when he gets home. He just changes into some sweat pants but we get a real kick out of him letting me know...."I'm taking my pants off." It's like a ritual. It signals it the end of the day. He will sit back and watch a little more television while he winds down and gets his mind set for bed.


What are some things that signal you that you are in your safe space when you get home. Your home should feel like the ultimate place of rest and relaxation. What can you do to make the most out of that? I also enjoy lots of little decorative lights. I light them up. They make me happy. How about a nice, warm bath. That is so relaxing and I don't do that nearly as often as I should. I really want a bigger tub. My belly sticks up a little out of the water and that makes me feel a little bad about myself so I haven't been doing it as often lately. But I was just having a conversation with a friend of mine about going through the trouble of the whole ordeal. Yes, I get it. I've been there too. But then I realized. So what if it takes a while for the tub to fill up and to get everything ready? Am I going to miss out on more television? It's worth the effort. It's the same thing with using my tea pot. I can just microwave a mug of water but it's so much nicer to pour the steaming hot water over my tea bag and see it start to steep. Just put in the effort. It's almost always worth it.


Some other things that I love. Freshly painted nails. I always my fingernails myself so the quarantine hasn't affected it. I just did them yesterday and they look so nice! It's another way to just get a little boost every time I look down at them. I love listening to music when I do my home workouts. It's funny because I usually listen to podcasts at the gym, but it's all music at home. Tucker usually joins me in my workout at some point and I get a nice little lick while I'm doing a plank. I throw her toy in between sets so it gets a little more cardio in! And I know I've talked about this before. I use my favorite body scrub every time I shower. I love the way it makes my legs and feet feel dewey soft and smell...oh, so good!


Then on the weekends, we drink! I kid! A little. We don't typically drink alcohol during the week so we do look forward to having a few adult beverages. In the summer, I will spend the entire day outside if possible. I will read and read and read. Sometimes I listen to music or a podcast. Then in the afternoon, My husband and I will have a snack and an adult beverage. Then we'll hang out on the deck for the rest of the night listening to music and my husband telling me to shhh...because the more I drink, the louder I sing!


What are the things that you love to do? What brings you comfort? What makes you feel safe? Include these things into your daily routine. Write down 3 things that bring you one of the above mentioned feelings. Love, comfort and safety. Do these three things daily. You will start to look forward to your days a little bit more.


It's "I wish it were cocktail Friday" Thursday. One more day people, one more day! Go be your badass self...I'm cheering for you. Now, go make today, your best day yet.

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

コメント


bottom of page