top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Hopefulist

A Time for Change


Here we go! It's the time we've all been waiting for. The end of 2020 and the hope of a different, better new year. That calls for change. Changes in the world and changes in our world. Be open to it. Be excited about it. Be committed to it.


The first few days are usually good. We are super excited. We have a goal in mind and are eager to work toward that goal. It's keeping up that momentum that is the real trick. If we have made resolutions that means we want to make a change. Change to bring good in our lives. Change to remove bad from our lives. The question you should ask yourself is why you want to make this change. You want to lose weight. Why? So you can look better in your clothes? Fit into a bathing suit come summer? Be able to move more freely and not be so out of breath. To be able to keep up with the kids or grandkids. To become more healthy so you can live life to the fullest and live longer? These are the things we need to focus on when we are staring at a plate of grilled chicken and spinach.


I have struggled with my weight my whole life so it's no surprise that losing weight is at the top of my list again this year. If you recall last year I went all of January with no carbs, sweets or alcohol. It actually worked really well for me. But I'm not willing to give up my carbs this year so I'm trying a different plan. I'm going to be intermittent fasting. I'm sitting here right now with my black cup of coffee and that first taste was bitter! It was downright awful. But it's gotten better. Now halfway through it's not that bad at all. It's not that good, but I may be able to work with it. Plus, when I have another cup of coffee after my nap I will allow myself the cream and sugar. Or maybe I will become a black coffee drinker. I haven't decided yet. But I will only be eating between 9 and 5. I'm not so worried about the morning. I think I can do that with less difficulty than missing the night time snack I'm used to having around 7;30. Wish me luck. But it's about change. We have to know that we can make these changes. That when it gets hard you pull out those reasons why you want this to become you new way of life.


Are you looking to stop a bad habit? Then just focus on that. Don't take on too much at once. We can't wake up one day, change our whole way of living and expect it to stick. I think that is where so many of us go astray. We wake up on January 1st and think we have to do everything today. Stop expecting too much of yourself! It's way better to go slowly than to give up altogether. Keep up the momentum and continue to move in the right direction. Write down your whys to keep you on track.


All this week and month we will be talking about habits and achieving goals. Pick one major change and focus on just that. What is the most important thing to you right now? Work on that and only that. What is your one thing? Tell me! I want to cheer you on.


It's Monday! My favorite day after Friday, Saturday and Sunday. A brand new week full of possibilities and opportunities. Now get after them. And be badass. I'm always here, cheering you on.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page