top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Hopefulist

Be the friend you'd like to have!


They say that friends come into your life for a reason, a season or forever. Sometimes you have no control over the loss of a friendship. Sometimes you do. All you can do is try your best to be a darn good friend. I have to admit I haven't always been the most thoughtful friend. I believe I've always been loyal, understanding, a good sounding board among other qualities but I have tended to be a bit selfish for most of my life. I don't know if it's just the season of my life but I have friends now that I truly want to emulate. They are good friends and I want to be more like them.


I hope you've had the opportunity to have a friend who really makes you feel special. Someone who goes out of their way for you and helps celebrate you. Someone who is there for you when you need it most. The friend that knows all your deep, dark secrets and would never betray you. Friendship is a give and take so make sure you are contributing your fair share.


One of the things I've learned recently is that thoughtfulness goes such a long way. I have been amazed at some of the things I have seen friends do for me over the years but I don't think I've been so good at returning the favor. That is what I'm trying to change now. I want to be the type of friend I want to have. The friend that I have had and didn't appreciate fully. That includes giving off your time. Having their favorite things around. Being thoughtful when it comes to gifts and being kind their families.


During this holiday season I've seen a few things that have been perfect for a certain friend. I am getting into the habit of just picking it up for them and dropping it off. It doesn't have to be a holiday or special occasion. It's so nice to be thought of so try to do it for others.


If you know your friend well you will know what is truly important to them and act accordingly. It's often something that takes little effort but means so much. Be that go to person. Be the one that is thought of when the subject of great friends come up. And here's a little secret...if you are a good friend you will likely get good treatment in return. Not that that should be the reason to do it but it doesn't hurt. And if you think back to those friendships you lost over the years maybe if you would have been just a little bit better friend (I take as much blame as the next guy) they may still be in your life. Like the quote above says...if you make people feel a certain way they will definitely want to be around you. But do it for you. It feels good to be a good friend. It feels even better to be a great friend.


It's hump day! Halfway through the week, almost! Do something really thoughtful for a friend today. You won't regret it! Now go be badass. I'm always here, cheering you on.

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


bottom of page