top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Hopefulist

Being Grateful


We had a health scare with our little girl the past few days. I noticed she was liking herself in the same spot non-stop. When I went to examine I saw there was a lump. Of course my mind to the worst case scenario but I had to wait two days to get her to the doctor which was torture. Luckily and gratefully it turned out to just be an infection. She is on the mend and already feeling much better.


So, this spoiled little girl just hit the jackpot because she will be that much more spoiled now. She is 14 so I have been pretty much giving in to her for the past year or so with whatever she wants because I know there will be a day where I wish she were here to give belly rubs to and begging me to play with her.


I feel she has a lot of life left in her. She is still pretty energetic and loves to play. She makes it really hard to play with her. She prefers keep away and likes for us to chase her all around the house rather than bringing the ball back so we can throw it again. But I've given in to this demand as well. I chase her down the hallway and throw a different toy. She has us trained well. And if she wants to play and I don't feel like it she will sit on the floor and bark at me until I do play. Yep, she's bossy and usually gets her way. Again, I know there will be a day where I wish she were here to bother me with her doggie demands so I try to give her what she wants.


When you have a dog as long as this, you know, how ingrained they become in your life. She has been like my child since I don't have kids of my own. She's always here. She's always happy. And she has taught me so much about life and living in the moment.


I like to think that when her time comes I will be grateful for our time together knowing we made each others lives so much better. I know that she has a great life and there isn't much more I can do to make her life better. It's already the best. But I'm sure I will be an absolute mess when that day actually comes. So, in the meantime, I'm going to love on my girl as much as I can and spoil her more and more. Because she is here now and I feel like we escaped a potential life altering prognosis. And whenever she bugs me to play when I don't feel like it I will remind myself that I will long for days like this. It's the same for when she gets me up in the middle of the night because she isn't feeling well. I won't be happy about it but I will be grateful that I can be there for her when she needs me.


When something is annoying you today just try to remember what this bit of inconvenience or annoyance means on the larger scale. How would my life look if I didn't have this annoyance? In Tucker's case I wouldn't get the greatest greeting when I come home, the hugs and kisses she gives or the snuggles we share on the couch. When I think of it that way, the small annoyances are totally worth it.


It's Monday again! But a brand new week full of opportunities and possibilities! Now, go make them happen. And of course, be a badass. I'm here, cheering you on.

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Commentaires


bottom of page