top of page
Writer's pictureThe Hopefulist

Better things are on the way


Things are definitely changing. I believe some things will never go back to the way they used to be so it's time to embrace the changes, like them or not. Find a way to see the good in this situation. A friend of mine just posted a meme with a saying we use all the time in the personal development space. Embrace the suck. Apparently it is military slang (which I didn't know that is where it originated) meaning you have to accept the things that are unpleasant but unavoidable for forward progress. We say this all the time in my circle because it is so true. It speaks to how you can't grow in your comfort zone. You have to be willing to get out of it in order to move forward in a meaningful way.


Some things will never get back to normal. I believe some of these new practices will stay in place just because it's been proven to work and it can save money at the same time. For example, I would be surprised if we ever see a toll taker again. They are all EZ pass now or they take a picture of your license plate and send you a bill. I also think a lot of companies will stick with a work from home scenario. This is a good time to figure out which changes you like and which ones you would like to avoid. What will be, will be but you don't have to stay where you are. You can always pivot into something different. But you have to be open to new possibilities. You have to be willing to let go of the old to embrace the new.


Which leads me to my silly example but really speaks to any type of change. If you've been listening to me for awhile you know that I got my first pair of real pajama pants for a Christmas party this year. I now know why people wear them in public. They are so freaking comfortable it's hard to take them off. They are fuzzy, warm and so comfy. BUT...I took a chance on a new pair of pants. I had gotten myself in this membership for workout gear and they don't really fit me that well. So I wanted to cancel my membership but I had a credit from the last 3 months when I didn't order anything. I figured I would order stuff that would potentially fit me better than their workout pants. Like sports bras, shorts and I chose some lounge pants. That is what I am wearing in the picture. The material they are made of is so super soft. They are much more flattering than the Christmas pj's and they even have pockets! I took a chance on some new pants and you may never see me wear anything else from this point on. If I wouldn't have been willing to try something new and different, I would still be wearing my Christmas pj's and starting to sweat it out as the weather warmed (not to mention they have Christmas lights all over them so I have felt a little silly).


Like I said, a bit of a silly example but if you can look at it from a larger scale you will see this example can be representative of any change happening in your life right now. Step back a little, take in the big picture. What is it you currently like, what do you dislike? How can you move forward in a way that will ultimately make you happy even if you have to embrace the suck for a little while?


It's Friday so you have some time to think about this over the weekend but I urge you to take a quick break from binge watching and put some serious thought into how you would like to see your life move forward after this is all over. Start making a plan to make that happen. Come out of this quarantine better than the one who went into it.


It's cocktail Friday so grab an adult beverage later today or soon. There are no rules when it comes to self isolation and cocktail hour! Put aside a little time for some thinking and planning this weekend. You won't be sorry. Now, go make today, your best day yet!

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page