top of page
Writer's pictureThe Hopefulist

Commit to giving yourself a break


This is me. Yep, it's how I look on a random weekday morning at 6:30 am. Sometimes I shower and do my hair, sometimes I don't. I've got the quarantine roots going on right now so I'm even less inclined to actually do anything with my hair. I have root spray but sometimes...sometimes, I just don't care.


Are you feeling a little left behind in this time? Are you feeling like everyone is focusing on side hustles and big projects during this lockdown and you're standing around like, I'm just trying to get through the day??? YES! I'm one of you. Are you tired of hearing how much we should be doing during this time? I have been guilty of this myself. I have encouraged you to get used to the new normal and not sit by and watch Netflix all day. I stand by that. I think we should attempt to be productive in any way we can. But we all have different stories. Some of us have a number of kids we are needing to home school right now in addition to our regular job. Or we are now working from home and don't have all this extra time that everyone else seems to have. Or we have been locked in with our in laws who are making us batshit crazy every day. Or maybe you don't know where food is coming from today. Maybe you need to stand in long lines in order to get food to feed your family. We are all in different spaces right now and if all you can do is get through the day, then that is okay.


I'm in a big group text with some friends in my neighborhood. They are all talking about these big projects they are doing. Whether it be spring cleaning or starting a new hobby or helping out the front lines by sewing masks. I had no idea I knew so many people that can make masks. God Bless them. I have a bra sitting on my hamper waiting for two weeks now to sew because the hook is starting to tear away. I can't even bring myself to do that. No big cleaning projects for me. I'm barely and I mean barely, getting the regular cleaning done. I don't have any excuses. Not much has changed in my daily life. So it doesn't feel all that different to me. I don't feel the need to take on all these projects. BUT when I see everyone else doing them, I feel like a slacker. Does this happen to you too? It's okay. You are allowed to go at your own pace. I do urge you to try to do be productive. Try to set some new goals in this new normal. Figure out how life will look moving forward. But sometimes, it's okay to veg out on the couch and just relax. It's okay. There is a lot going on that we never expected to happen. We are all managing in our ways. It's hard to say what is the right way and what is the wrong way. I just hope you find the best way for you now and moving forward.


But definitely cut yourself a break. If you aren't keeping up with your friends and their cleaning...who cares. You are the one that has to live there. BTW...I did clean off the top of the fridge. Sometimes a little at a time is the way to go. Don't be lazy! But don't expect too much from yourself either. You don't have to start a new hobby, side hustle, project. You can do whatever it is to get yourself through these uncertain days. Look to the future but take care of you in the present.


The good news is...it's Friday! And a cocktail Friday at that. I hope you get a chance to grab a cold one later today. Sit back and relax this weekend. Spend some time doing the things you love. No expectations...just pure enjoyment. Have a great weekend. Be safe in whatever you do and make today, your best day yet!

11 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

1 Comment


char coddington
Apr 24, 2020

Yup, feel the same. Like I'm not keeping up with the Jones ! On the other hand, going on 2 years retirement, and still haven't gotten into the whole organized purging thing, so nothing has changed! Although I would like it to. I'm working on getting there someday...

Like
bottom of page