top of page
Writer's pictureThe Hopefulist

Creating a new schedule for yourself.


If you have been working from home or are out of work at this time, it's likely you've had your new normal for a couple of weeks now. You are entitled to lay around and comfort yourself at first as you adjust to a new way of life. But it's more than likely time to come up with a new normal. That means coming up with a schedule. You must make a new schedule for yourself or you will likely sit in front of the t-v all day.


What is your number one goal right now? Getting all your work done throughout the day? Finding a new job? Considering a new career path? Now is the time to put the time and effort into these things. Figure out the steps you need to take to get you where you want to go. And then schedule out your path. There are some great books that will help you narrow down your goals into workable bites. A guide that will help you figure out your first steps to your ultimate goal. One of my favorites is "Girl, Stop apologizing" by Rachel Hollis. She helps you figure out your ultimate goal and how to get from where you are now to where you want to be.


One of the best and most productive things you can do is make a daily schedule for yourself. The picture above is from my HPX daily planner from Brendon Burchard. I love this planner. It asks you questions every morning to get you in the right mindset. It maps out your goals and to-do list. And there is a recap at the end of the day with more questions to see how you did with your goals. Yes, this definitely takes some extra time in the morning, but I have found the ten minutes it takes to go through the questions and planning out my day makes me 100% more productive than when I try to wing it. It also helps me decipher what works for me and what doesn't. I have a tendency to go crazy and want to do everything in one day. Ultimately, what happens is I become overwhelmed and get nothing done. I think about what I want to do all day without really taking action on anything. I've realized this recently. Now my goal is small, bite sized chunks that will move me in the direction I want to go. This is more productive for me, personally. Sticking to a schedule will help you come to the same realizations. What works and doesn't work for you.


I start my morning with a little social media (I know I shouldn't! I can't seem to kick the habit as of yet), my gratitude journal and then filling out my planner. I watch a little news to find some fun stories to share with you and then I get ready to start the podcast. After that I can go in many different directions. I can go back to bed. I can watch Good Morning America. I can work out. I can shower and get ready for the rest of the day. Knowing what my goals are for the rest of the day will help me figure out what I should do next.


Having a plan is the most important thing. Following the plan is another story...lol. But you can't even try to start if you don't have a plan. Make a plan. Figure out out you want your days to go for the next few weeks. Map it out and assign yourself some manageable goals. Don't make my mistake and try to take on too much because you will feel overwhelmed and likely not get anything done at all. Small chunks. Little bites. They will get you there.


It's Monday! You know it's my favorite day of the week after Friday, Saturday and Sunday. A brand new week full of possibilities and opportunities. Take advantage of them! And come up with a plan! We all need a little structure in our lives. Now, go make today...your best day yet!

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page