top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Hopefulist

Creating Courage


I just got done watching the Harry and Megan interview with Oprah. There is a lot of talk about how the palace is going to react to the interview and the things said and alleged in it. I know a lot of people are probably thinking they didn't need to say anything. That this institution has been around forever and why did they feel the need to expose them in such a way. First of all, it took a ton of courage for both of them to speak out the way they have. It's hard to go against the grain in order to speak the truth. But speaking the truth, your truth, is so important; especially now.


It's really hard when people are saying and thinking things about you that aren't true. I think we've all had that happen to us on some level at certain points in our lives. But it's a whole other level when it comes to these two. They are the center of tabloid fodder everyday and if what they say is true, a lot of it was just plain wrong. The things being portrayed where misrepresented, wrong and nobody attempted to set the record straight. How do you think you would feel if an aunt or uncle was telling the rest of the family something about you that wasn't true and your closest family members said nothing to correct the information. I imagine you would feel betrayed. I think I would. It's important to speak out and it takes a massive amount of courage.


When I lost my last job it was under extremely unfair conditions. I stand by the fact that I did nothing to bring that on. In fact, it was the actions of others that brought about the situation and I got caught in the crossfire. I have never been able to speak the truth about what happened there. Meanwhile, I know people are making assumptions about what happened there. The people I worked with. The people who listened to us everyday. The people in the industry. Honestly, it just makes me look bad. No one wants to be fired but to not be able to tell my side has been hard. Unfortunately I will never be able to tell the whole story and it sucks. I mean, really sucks. So I feel you Megan and Harry. And I'm proud of you. I hope the backlash isn't too bad and continue your happy life in California. As that is the only thing I can do now is to go on with my life in a way that is best suited for me.


Make no mistake though, it's hard to speak out. It's especially difficult when you know people have the story wrong. But being able to speak out is not only important, it's essential. Being courageous isn't something that comes easily to everyone, myself included. My social anxiety always has me worrying about what people think, how I am perceived and whether people will agree with me and therefore like me. I think as we get older though we realize it is so much more important what we think of ourselves than what others think of us. If people can't handle my speaking my truth than I guess they aren't my people. I don't feel good about myself unless I am doing what I think is right.


It's the reason I started speaking out on social media about the last election. I really didn't want to open that can or worms or face the wrath of people but it was more important for me to be proud that I stood up for things I believed in. And trust me, I got into arguments with people I have been friends with my whole life. I noticed that some people blocked me. And at first it really upset me. I don't know how we got to the point where we have to agree on everything in order to be friends. But once I got over the initial shock of losing friends I realized that they must not have been very good friends to begin with. If someone blocked me because of what I believe than that was their choice. I am entitled to my opinion just as everyone else is. And I'm also entitled to share that opinion. But it does take courage to speak out especially when it seems you are going against the grain. This is why so many people stay silent. And that's okay if that is what is best for you. But I tend to speak my mind and I don't like feeling as I'm being bullied into not saying what I truly feel. But you do what is best for you. But I hope you will never be afraid to speak your mind. It's important for your psyche.


If you want to speak out more but are afraid just start small. Say one thing that makes you nervous and see the response. Don't be rude or in your face. Just speak your peace or have your say. Once you get through that first time you will realize you didn't face all these repercussions you thought you would. That will give you a little more courage to try again. And again. It's those uncomfortable conversations where progress is made for the whole world. Things will never change or get better if we stay silent. It's important to say what you feel. It's good for you and it's good for the world. And a healthy discussion about the two sides is necessary for everyone to move forward.


So start small and build up, little by little. I promise you will feel better about yourself when you do/say what you feel is right. Yes, it's scary...so work that courage. It's like a muscle that gets stronger with use. So use it often.


It's Tuesday! Hope you have a truly badass day. You know I'm here, cheering you on.

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


bottom of page