top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Hopefulist

Determination-how to get you some


Oh, how we long for determination. It's one of those things we all wish we had but sometimes lack. We make a decision and let ourselves be talked right out of it. That was me last week. I suffered some stress and threw all my good decisions out the window along with the hard work I had endured up to that point. And what did it solve? Nothing really. If I'm to be honest it did make me feel better in the moment but now I'm really disappointed in myself and how I let myself get so off track.


What do we do when that happens? Dust ourselves off and get right back on track. You likely spend some time thinking about your resolutions/goals/new habits and there is a reason you wanted to change. What are those reasons? This is what keeps you anchored. When you feel like you are on the edge of giving in goes to those reasons. The why of what you are doing will get your through rough moments like nothing else will.


I have put on quite a bit of weight in the last few months. I don't feel good about myself nor do I feel good in my body. It's harder to move. I can't even get in and out of the car as easily. I'm unhappy about it. I want to get back in shape and to a lower weight. One that feels good. This what I need to remember when I want to go off plan. This is what I need to tell myself when I don't feel like getting a workout in. This is what I have to tell myself when I am staring down a brownie!


It's the reason behind our decisions that keep us going. It's why we need a really strong "why". If we were happy with our lives we likely wouldn't be making changes so we need to remind ourselves of those reasons often. Set your day up for success. Schedule activity into your day. Prep food ahead of time so you will make good choices. Don't wait until you are hungry to make yourself a meal. It won't be optimal. Don't wait until the end of the day to decide whether you want to work out or not. Schedule it! And don't break promises to yourself.


Changes are hard. That's why we are so bad at them and so few of us actually make them stick. But you can. It's all up to you. You can set yourself up for success or wing it and likely fail. It takes a plan. And then determination. Keep at it. Keep it up. If at first you don't succeed, try again. You'll get it.


It's Monday already. But it is my favorite day of the week after Friday, Saturday and Sunday. A brand new week full of possibilities and opportunities. Now go make things happen and be badass. I'm here, cheering you on!

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

留言


bottom of page