top of page
Writer's pictureThe Hopefulist

Do it again and again.


Does putting the caption over my hair distract from my gray roots? I hope so! That was my intention! Yesterday we talked about getting over those fears by just doing it. Once you do that, it will feel so great. You will realize how worrying was much worse than the actual doing. Once you conquer your fear, you must do it again. Then, again.


This is definitely one thing I continue to work on myself. I have such a habit of finally conquering something and then never doing it again until, of course, I need it again. If it's months later, I likely will have forgotten how to do the thing. So, I'm basically starting over again to conquer this task and the fear comes rushing back. I knew I couldn't do this. This is why it is so important to keep doing the new things you learn. Especially if you plan to use that skill again. For example, when it comes to figuring out how to write newsletters. I had to find a template and figure out how to choose from all the options. I had to make it look nice while getting out the information I wanted to convey. It can be very overwhelming at first. So, once I got my first newsletter out, you know what I did! Celebrated by not sending another one out for a few months. Then, I had to figure it all out again once I got up the courage to try again. If I would have done it again, even just for practice, a few days later I would have remembered what I was doing. Repetition is our friend. Once you figure out how to do something, keep doing it! Practice it and become an expert. Then it will take you no time to get done what you need to do. After awhile it will be hard to forget!


As I said, this is something I don't do as much as I encourage you to do. We get busy. We don't enjoy doing things that we find difficult. But it's important! It's never going to hurt you to have skills. It can only help. And each time you do it, you will get better. Next thing you know, you will be helping all your friends write newsletters...lol!


Keep at it. Gaining new skills and habits are so valuable. And once you get it down, you will never have fear about it again. The other great thing is it teaches you that you can learn. You can learn just about anything. Definitely something that is important to you. I urge you to practice and keep doing it until you have it down pat. Then you can just work on improving and being fancy. And don't we all love being fancy???


It's hump day! It's almost the weekend. Hang in there. We'll make it. Go out and be your badass self today and of course, I'm cheering for you!

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Commentaires


bottom of page