top of page
Writer's pictureThe Hopefulist

Don't be afraid to celebrate!


Get used to this picture because you will be seeing it a lot...lol! I love it! I knew that I was toning up and building muscle ever since I made working out three times a week a non-negotiable. But even I was surprised at how good I look in this shot. Wow! I'm so impressed with myself! Just so you know, I still nitpick the whole thing. Yeah, you can still notice the cellulite on my thighs. Those arms are still way flabby on the bottom when I move them. And don't even get me started on my hair. But you know what? I look good overall and I'm ready to celebrate and show off! That's right...show off! Because I have worked hard to get where this body is and I deserve a little recognition, even if only from myself.


My husband took this picture for me last weekend but I've been too afraid to post it. Afraid people will judge me. Afraid people will think I'm bragging. Afraid that people will roll their eyes and comment about how I need social acceptance in order to feel good about myself. Yes! To all those things! I don't NEED social acceptance but damn, it feels good. And don't I deserve it a little bit after working so hard and staying committed? Don't I deserve to brag a little and show off the results of my hard work? And keep in mind, people who are doing more than you will never judge. Nor those who are working toward what you are doing. In fact, it can add hope and inspiration to those working hard themselves. The only people who will really judge you are those who have no interest in working that hard. And that's okay, they don't have to. Sometimes, people feel the need to lash out when you challenge their own insecurities and habits. I'm trying not to let it bother me anymore.


And seriously, why are we women so reluctant to show off things that have to do with our appearance? We would be shouting from the rooftops if we earned a PHD or passed the bar exam. We love taking compliments about our children. We are proud of our homes and our clothes but for some reason, we shy away from showing off our body. I don't now, maybe it's just me. But man, I've stuck with it and I'm so glad.


When you have something to celebrate, no matter what it is, do it up right. Show off, brag and give yourself that well deserved pat on the back. No matter how small you think it may be. Go through the whole day without having a soda? That's great! Pat yourself on the back. Did you make it through the day without crying? That's great too! We have to stop and celebrate our wins no matter what others think of it.


I've said it before and I'll say it again, once you get to a point of true happiness and fulfillment, you won't worry nearly as much what others think of you. You will do you and expect others to do them. I mean, don't be a jerk, obviously. But pump yourself up. Give yourself a bow and a cheer.


What is something you've done lately that you are proud of? I don't care how small you think it is. Celebrate. Show off and brag. When we try to do better in our lives we must take time to cheer our own growth. I would love for you to chime in on the group page with one of your recent accomplishments.


It's "I wish it were cocktail Friday" Thursday. No one likes Thursday...the poor thing. One more day to the freaking weekend! Let's cheer ourselves and each other on! You know I'm here for you!

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Commentaires


bottom of page