top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Hopefulist

Falling off the wagon


There will be times that you fall off the wagon. You know those times when you give yourself permission to alter your regular routine for some reason. Mine was my birthday last week. We had some friends visit and then it was Super Bowl Sunday. It wouldn't have been so bad if I would have gotten right back on track yesterday but I did not. I had planned to but looking at the leftover coffee cake kind of made my plan go astray.


Looking back (behind hindsight is always 20/20) what I should have done is thrown that cake in the trash and done my workout instead. But alas, I did eat the cake and then skipped the workout. Because no one wants to work out with a belly full of cake! If I would have been strong enough to have done the workout first I believe I would have been able to fight off the urge to eat the cake. But we learn and do better, right?


Mostly, I'm not going to beat myself up for my missteps. These things happen. And berating myself will likely only make me feel worse about myself which would in turn cause me to keep making bad choices. Now, I will get right back on track. I'm back to my intermittent fasting which was working really well for me. I will remind myself of how much better I felt in my body while eating healthy and doing my workouts compared to how bloated I felt while eating crap over the last few days. It's okay to take a few days. But once it goes over a week it gets easier to forget the goals we were after and all the progress we have made. Do what you need to in order to get back on track and continue toward those goals.


The picture above will help me keep the vision of what I want in the forefront. I ordered this bathing suit last week. I haven't attempted a two piece suit in many years but I'm pretty confident I will get the weight off I'm looking to shed and I'm keeping up with my workouts so I'm shooting high. I think (I hope) I will rock this suit come summer. I will continue to look at the picture until the suit actually comes and then I will put it somewhere I will see it everyday to encourage me to stay on the path to my goals.


It's so easy to throw in the towel and go back to our old ways of doing things. I'm here to tell you it's okay to go off course occasionally. In fact, it's even encouraged. It's a great way to break up the routine and give yourself a little break to reset. But then you must get right back on board. The longer you go the harder it will be. Focus on how you feel. On how your body responds to the foods you eat and activities you do. Find something that will keep you on track (like a bathing suit or a dress for a special occasion) and put it somewhere you can see it often. Hang it on the fridge if necessary! You can do this. I know you can. I believe in you.


It's Tuesday! Does anyway else think this year is flying by? January usually feels so long but we are through it and already 9 days in to February. Seems very fast to me this year. So get going on those goals because summer will be here before we know it. Now go be your badass self. I'll be right here, cheering you on.

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page