top of page
Writer's pictureThe Hopefulist

Family Timeout!


How we long for closeness and time with our family...until we get it! I'm sure tempers are flaring with so much togetherness with no escape in sight. We love our families, we may just not want to spend this much time with them. If you are loving being with your family and have no issues, then you are good. No need to read any further. BUT I'm sure there are a few cases of people feeling a little smothered and hoping for a time out.


Joe is home now. He had a cough when he woke up on Tuesday and we decided it was best for him to stay home in case he had something he could pass on to others. He went to the doctor and we are awaiting official test results but the doctor seems to think he does not have Covid 19. Joe thinks it may be just a spring cold which is probably the case. We are on day three of his being home with me. This is not really an issue for us. Aside from the fact that I feel a little awkward doing my usual work with him here, I'm completely fine with him being home. In fact, the only reason I even used this picture for today is because I look super cute in it. I mean, really! But Joe and I get along really well. It's only been two full days but I don't anticipate a problem with our getting along. Nothing major, anyway. I know everyone is not so lucky.


I saw a video someone posted on Facebook that was pretty funny. It was a dad pretending he was his kid showing what it was like working from home and his kid running in the room every few seconds wanting something. Maybe you and your spouse are bumping heads right now. Maybe it's time to head to different corners of the house. Just because you are both home doesn't mean you have to spend every waking moment together. Take some time apart in different rooms. Hopefully you have more one than one television and you can both veg out with some mindless, relaxing shows. When it comes to the kids...that may be a bit harder, especially if they are young. But I don't think it unreasonable to ask for a short period of time without being disturbed. Whether that actually happens is another story, I know. If you have a spouse in the house....ha...can you guys switch up and give the other a break throughout the day? If you don't have help. Look for things that will keep the kids busy for a half hour while you watch a show or read a book. Relax the tech rules and let them have at it a little more than usual. If it brings peace, it will be worth it.


Also, get outside in your yard if you can. Do a group exercise with the family so you can all blow off a little steam. Or have a dance party. Shower and dress most days. There is nothing wrong with a jammie day right now. I had one myself yesterday. But don't do it everyday. Try to act as normal as possible. Let the sunshine in....open all the curtains and blinds in the house. Make sure you are drinking enough water. Try to eat healthy...it looks like this is our life for the next month so you want to feel your best, right? Eat well. Make time for real games, not on the phone or computer with the family. Puzzles are very big right now. Do you have one? Or show the kids a game that also helps them learn. When we were young, my aunt played the card game rummy with us. She said it was a great way for us to learn our numbers and adding. And she never once let us win. I look back on those times with fond memories.


All regular rules are really off right now. If you are having some issues with your spouse, talk about it. Figure out what you both need and come up a plan that speaks to those needs for the both of you. Take turn with the kids. Think outside the box when it comes to entertainment. Do things you've never done before because we are in times we've never been before. Do what works for you and your family.


It is "I wish it were cocktail Friday" Thursday. I think we may cheat and have a cocktail today. How about you? You do you! And go be your badass self as always. Now, go make today your best day yet!

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page