top of page
Writer's pictureThe Hopefulist

Fear of Failure


I have learned a lot about fear of failure through the launch of my business. The most important lesson, I think, is that failure is a given. It will happen. To what extent isn't always able to be forecast. But even among the things that don't work out the way we hope, as long as we learn something we aren't really failing. Starting over is never from scratch. You have a ton of knowledge you didn't in the past. You know what works and what doesn't. That is a win for sure.


I've been afraid of trying almost everything I have undertaken in the past year. When I lost my job and I decided to do my own thing, I thought...I can't run my own business. I have no idea how to do any of that. Nor had I ever really wanted to. But things change. My desire to stop getting fired for reasons that had nothing to do with me had me searching for another option. One I hadn't tried before. Working for myself. I'm pretty sure I won't ever fire myself! And I discovered my super power. Which is helping others turn negative thinking into positive. Something I figured out and want to help everyone do the same...only faster than I did.


I had a fixed mindset which means I thought I already knew all the skills I could ever learn. I figured this is what I know so I have to do what I already know. But with a growth mindset, you realize you can learn new things. You can keep growing by education and acquiring the skills you need to get to your ultimate goal. And you know what? You really can! I never thought I would be able to tackle the technology involved in recording and getting a podcast posted every day. I have a website that I think I can create new pages on. I do weekly newsletters and am trying to grow an email list. I am booked to do a speaking event in the near future. (I hope you join me!) For more information about growth vs. fixed mindset read "Mindset" by Carol Dweck. It's really interesting stuff and great news for those of us that always thought we were too old to learn new things.


Here's the other major force in fear of failure. We aren't really afraid to fall as much as we afraid to have people see us fail! But here is something that keeps me going and I hope it helps you too. People who have come before you. Those who have already taken your path, will never judge you. In fact, they will likely offer advice on how to survive setbacks and continue successfully on your path. The only people who will judge you are those too afraid to try themselves. Keep that in mind.


What is one big dream you have been putting off because you are afraid you will fail? Write down all your fears associated with that dream coming true or not coming true. I will also tell you this....one my biggest fears has been how we could pay all our bills without my income. It has worked out thus far. We have found a way to make it work. If something is really important to you, you will find a way. I'm cheering you on.


If you haven't joined my take back control challenge you still can. Just sign up on my email list which you can find at Hopefulist.com. Or if you already subscribe, just let me know that you are in and I will send you all the info you need to know! Oh and it's completely free.


It's Tuesday! Grab a taco. And make today, your best day yet.

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


bottom of page