top of page
Writer's pictureThe Hopefulist

Feed your life!


We are entering week 4 of self isolation. Week 4! Did you think when this started we would still be here four weeks later with no end in sight? It's April 6th and a lot of states have already extended the stay at home order until April 30th. That's another four weeks away. Let me ask you this...what would you have done differently for week one if you knew then this could go on for two months? Would you have gone about things a little bit differently? Would you have started a better routine? One that includes more healthy eating, more activity, more feeding your mind over watching hours on end of television? You can start all of that right now.


I'm not saying that any of what you have done in the past is necessarily bad. Television is great to distract and get away from the real world for awhile. But as with everything in life...in moderation. Watching t-v is something I encourage you to do. Watching it all day and night is not something I would encourage you do. Are you get some activity in? Are you going on walks around the neighborhood? A home workout? There are all sorts of groups that are hosting home workouts right now on Facebook. If you can't find any, let me know. I can add you to a good one.


I'm going to talk about water consumption a little bit. How are you with getting your water in everyday? I used to drink a big bottle of water while I was at work and then switch to soda or iced tea when I got home. Since I've gotten more into building better habits I start drinking water first thing in the morning. I have a bottle that I ordered from Amazon that holds 36 ounces of water that I keep filled with tap water in my fridge. I start my day drinking down a bunch of that while I wait for my coffee to brew. Then, I drink more water every time I go back for another cup of coffee. I usually have three cups of coffee in the morning (I know, probably to many) so I have at least three times I drink that down and usually finish one bottle by the time my coffee runs out. It has really helped to hydrate and feel good first thing in the morning. And now I look forward to and crave my ice cold water first thing in the morning. I have now made switch to drinking water almost all day. I'm telling you, it really does make a difference in how I feel. Water is so good for you. It's good for your skin and keeping things flowing through your body in the way it's supposed to. Will you have to run to the bathroom all day? Yes, you will. In the words of Rachel Hollis, that is what is supposed to happen! You are flushing all the toxins out. It levels off at some point but I do spend a lot of time in the bathroom in the morning. I've just adjusted to that fact.


Which leads us to food. Again, how would you have planned your meals differently four weeks ago if you knew we would potentially be doing this for two months? Trust me that I know food is one of the things that is really getting us through this time right now. I am loving the comfort meals my man has been making the last few weeks. Lasagna last week, meatloaf and mac n cheese this week. It's amazing! But I get right back on track Monday morning with my healthy eating plan. It's probably not the best time to try to lose weight but do what you can to try not to gain weight. I know it's easier said than done but the faster you adjust to this, the better off you will be. I try to stay on a healthy eating track during the week so I can indulge on the weekends and not feel guilty about it. You can still get most things you need at the grocery store. It will take you a lot longer to shop now...prepare for it. But get some healthy meals. Food that will feed your body and soul in good ways. Not just numb you to what is going on.


My advice is this. Set up an actual eating schedule and stick to it. What time is everyone up by in the house? Have breakfast at a specified time each day. The same with lunch and dinner and then throw in snacks accordingly. Choose foods that will feed your body in nutritious ways. Here is the great thing about food. Your body starts to crave what you feed it. Whatever you feed it. There are so many healthy foods I crave now over fattening stuff. I've also discovered that starting my day out with carbs (like my favorite, a bagel) usually just makes me even hungrier an hour later. So I try to eat more protein during the week and save the bagels for the weekend. I actually put the extras we had from this weekend in my outside freezer to stop me from digging in during the week! Hope it works! Don't get me wrong, now that I predominantly eat more healthy foods doesn't mean I don't crave fattening foods. But I have a lot more to choose from. If I'm craving something good, I am just as likely to pick salmon as I am to choose lasagna. And when I do choose lasagna or meatloaf, I don't feel bad about it because I mix in the healthy stuff too.


Also, move your body. There are all things you can do to get a little activity in. You can go for a walk. You can do a home workout. You can have a dance party with the kids. You can stand up every hour and do 10 jumping jacks. Yes, I'm serious. Get your blood flowing. When you move your body, you change your mind. If you are sitting at your desk and you suddenly get up and do 10 jumping jacks notice how you feel afterwards. I bet you will feel more energized and ready to take on more of the day. Pick whatever activity you want. Jumping jacks, squats, lunges, push ups. Whatever you want to do. I guarantee, you will feel better at the end of the day that you got some kind of movement in.


Pay attention to your body. It usually tells you what it needs. You just need enough quiet to listen. Notice how your body feels different when you are feeding it in a healthy way rather than filling it with junk. Get a new eating plan for these next few weeks. Set a schedule. Feed your body in good ways and then you can indulge on the weekends guilt free (like me)! I can only tell you what works for me. I am lucky in the fact that I have been working from home for the past year so I had a solid plan in place when this hit. But you've had four weeks now. What can you do today knowing it may be another four weeks or longer?


It's Monday. My favorite day of the week after Friday, Saturday and Sunday. A brand new week full of possibilities and opportunities. Go make the best of it. And make today, your best day yet.



8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page