top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Hopefulist

Finding JOY in the process!




We will never stay committed or keep up our discipline if we can't find any joy in the process. There has to be some joy. It doesn't have to be all joyful...that is pretty rare but there has to be something that you enjoy in the process. Or you will quit...quaranteed.


When it comes to fitness and eating healthy, you have to do and have things you love (or at least don't hate). Figure out the healthy foods that you love and incorporate more of them into your diet. That way you will be so full of the good stuff you won't have room for the bad stuff! It's the same with physical activity. Find something that you enjoy doing. If you hate to run, it's likely you won't stay committed to it. But there are so many things you can to get some activity in. I just started playing pickle ball and love it. It's very active and I sweat my butt off. (Hope to literally!) I also enjoy strength training and love to see how I can increase the amount of weight I can lift. I love to bike ride and kayak. If you don't like any of that stuff, how about a nice walk somewhere pretty where you can take in a nice view? Or just dance. Dance around your house. Chase your dog around the house. Play tag with the kids or grandkids. You can find something that you enjoy if you look hard enough.


It's so important to enjoy your process when working toward your goals. The only reason I'm still doing this podcast and blog every day after nearly two years (without getting paid) is because I love doing it. I love to writing everyday. I love talking to you everyday. I love helping you everyday. That keeps me going. That doesn't mean there aren't days I don't feel like doing it. There are. A lot more than I'd like to admit. It also doesn't mean I enjoy all parts of the process. There are aspects of running this business I don't enjoy at all but for now they go with the territory. Some day I will have the money to hire someone to do those parts. But for now, this is my dream and I'm committed to it. When figuring out your path, choose something you can see yourself doing every day for the rest of your life.


There are so many things available to us that we never take advantage of which could end up being the great passion of our lives. I just rode a horse for the first time in my life. Maybe I will buy a horse and turn that into my new passion (I won't, but loved the experience). Maybe volunteering at a soup kitchen or animal shelter or at the local hospital will help you realize how much you love to help others. Try a new hobby or activity. You may fall in love with it. Like me with pickle ball. I really do love the game and plan to play as often as possible. You can find something new too. You just have to explore. Or read books! Reading is such a great way to discover things you aren't familiar with.


It's all comes down to loving the process of attaining your dreams and goals. You don't have to love all aspects of it or never have to push yourself to get it done...but you do have to enjoy what you are doing. If you need help, contact me and we can chat about some things that may work for you.


If you like this episode please leave me a review or tell your friends about it. Even share it on your social media. Screen shot the episode and tag me in the post so I can properly thank you.


Oh my...it's the freaking weekend. We made it to cocktail Friday. Grab a cocktail and think about your favorite things to do. How can you make that into something that will take you toward your dream life? This is tough work sometimes, but it's always worth it. Now go be badass. Have a great weekend. Be safe in whatever you do. And know, that I'm always here cheering you on.



6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Commentaires


bottom of page