top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Hopefulist

Finding your 'why' and why it's so important.


Finding your why. It's so important to have a why when it comes to living a satisfying, fulfilling life. It's what lights you up and sets your heart on fire. It's what has you jumping out of bed in the morning to get to work. It's what has you looking forward to each and every day. It's what will put that smile on your face when you wake up and the feeling of accomplishment when you go to bed.


I have been very lucky to work at something I have been passionate about for most of my career. Radio broadcasting has always been exciting to me. I get to talk to people everyday and give important information. I can have fun filled topics and deep conversations about what is important in people's lives. It's a position that allows me to be goofy, serious, fun and even profoundly deep at times. The greatest aspect to me has always been to let others know that they aren't alone. That we so often go through the same problems and issues and we can help each other in our collective experience. But man, radio is a heartbreaking field. I've been let go from so many positions over the years. I got out altogether at one point and decided to give it another go to have my heart broken in the worst possible way at my last job. That is when I had an idea that I could still continue doing what I did on the radio via podcast but on my own terms. And I could focus it on exactly what I wanted to talk about. Not so long before this I had come to the realization that I had finally started to transform my thinking from negative to positive and I got really excited about sharing how I went about doing this. As a lifelong pessimist I was so excited that I was actually able to make the transition and I wanted to shout to all the other pessimists that "yes, you can change too".


When you find that thing. The one you are truly passionate about, you will do whatever it takes to get it done. In my example, it's getting more and more people to listen to this podcast. It's also getting the information out in any way I can in order to help people who were like me. What do you think that thing is for you? What is something that you love and can't wait to do? It can be an idea, an activity, a product, a career, a service or anything that will allow you to get to do your why. It can be anything and I mean this literally. Love cats and dogs? Volunteer at a shelter. Do you love to write...in long form, short form or maybe even music? Then do it.We have so many outlets now to exhibit our work. Blogs, vlogs, YouTube, podcasts, books, articles, what have you. Or maybe you love to knit. You knit things for everyone you know. Maybe you can start an etsy shop and even sell some things. The possibilities are limitless.


If you don't know what your 'why" is then start experimenting with things. Do you love to read, maybe you can start doing summary's about your favorite books and offer them to your friends. Or hold discussions online about the books that have spoken to you the most and what you got out of them. Maybe you just discovered running. You wake up everyday and can't wait to hit the streets. Great, keep going! Challenge yourself and do 5K's, half marathons, full marathons. You may find a whole new group of people that share in that passion and life may go in more exciting directions for you. If you haven't found your why yet, keep it up. Keep experimenting and trying things that tickle your fancy. Keep going until you find something that excites you every time you do it. Life is meant to be enjoyed so keep trying until you find that thing.


There are so many ways to find new interests now. Check out groups on Facebook. Ask some of your friends what their hobbies and interests are. Or go back to something you used to love as a child. Give it another go. It's not about being the best..it's about being the best you possible.


Now go on out there and explore. I am more than happy to help you sift through some ideas if you need some help. Just send me an email through Facebook, IG or thehopefulist1@gmail.com. And be badass about it because I know you are. I'm here, cheering you on.

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page