top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Hopefulist

Flip It! Transform your thoughts!


Attention all pessimists! I have an idea that I believe will transform your thinking from negative to positive faster than anything else you can try. I've been working on this behind the scenes for some time and I have some good feedback. May I introduce to you...Flip It!


Here's the gist of it. It's a way to take any situation and find the positive and/or lesson in it. For example, say you get a flat on the way to work in the morning. Sucks, right? Write that down in a notebook....got a flat tire. Instead of focusing on how inconvenient, expensive, and time consuming it turned out to be...it's time to focus on what we know after the event. What do I mean? Oh, I'm gonna tell you. Under where you wrote in a notebook that you got a flat, put what positive came out of it. This can be a number of things.


  1. You have roadside assistance so you just have to wait.

  2. You realize you need roadside assistance.

  3. Ain't no big thing for you...you know how to change a flat.

  4. Best scenario, you know someone who can come change it for you.

  5. Or, strip it all the way down, at least I have a car. (Because there are many people in this country that still don't have the luxury of a car.)

Do you get where I'm going with this? Okay, I will throw out another example. There's a guy at work that makes your life miserable. As much as you try not to let him get to you he still does. So, let's look at it from a different direction.

  1. At least you only have to spend part of the day with him.

  2. You take great pride when you are able to do a great job in spite of him.

  3. Imagine his family and how much worse it would be if you were part of it.

  4. You likely won't have to spend forever with him. Today could be the day he quits or you find a better job.

  5. Strip it down again, at least you have a job that pays the bills to support the rest of the lifestyle you enjoy.

Are you getting it now? Are you picking up what I'm throwing down? Are you smelling what I'm selling? That is the general idea in detail.


Find yourself a nice notebook that you can carry with you so you have access to it often. I think an important part of this is putting a picture of yourself at your happiest inside the front cover to remind yourself of how you want to feel while going through these exercises. Use it whenever something happens that you complain about. Take that complaint and 'Flip It' to see the positive or lesson in what happened.


A friend of mine has been using this for the past few months. This is what she had to say about the process. "I just wanted to say that your 'Flip It' journal has helped me tremendously. Thank you. I told a friend of mine about it and she is going to start one too. Thank you doesn't even describe how it has helped me see things in a new light." - Michelle A.


That right there, my friends, is why I do what I do. I love that I have been able to help her and she is sharing the process that helped her. I hope you will give it a go and will have similar results.


Honestly, life is all about how your perceive it and react to it. I believe this is the fastest way to see things in your life in a more positive view. Once you realize you choose how to view and react to every situation everything will feel better in your life. Please, please keep me posted if you give this a go.


Don't wait...get started right now! It's cocktail Friday y'all. We made it to the weekend! The weather here is supposed to be amazing so I hope you have something fun planned. Be safe in whatever you do. Be badass in whatever you do. And if you like the idea of this journal...please share this episode with your friends! Mwah! I'm remember, I'm always here cheering you on.




13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page