top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Hopefulist

Forgiveness - behaviors to adopt


This is one I really struggle with. I am a self-confessed grudge holder and it’s a hard habit to break. Even though I know it’s not doing me any good. Most of my grudges evolve over a slight or mistreatment that I didn’t feel I deserved. Not that we ever deserve to be treated badly but sometimes we understand why the other person is upset with us and it at least makes sense.


There are two major issues I’m struggling with right now. And they are pretty major. One is issues with my mom and the actions she put in place to occur after her death. The other is the loss of my most recent job. I don’t understand why either has played out the way it has. I am proud to say that I have grown so much on my own path that I don’t let it affect my daily life. I’m happy. I’m good. I’m getting to be great. But it still perplexes me as to why these things unfolded the way they did. It baffles me, it hurts me to my core. But we must move on with life, right? Because if we don’t, we are only hurting ourselves and the fighter in me thinks…Don’t let them win!


I know how hard it can be to forgive. Trust me, I know. But have you ever heard the saying that holding a grudge is like swallowing poison and waiting for the other person to die? It’s true! And when you forgive you aren’t really doing it for the other person. You are doing it for yourself. I’m not saying you should forgive people for treating you like crap and continue to allow them to do it. Not what I’m saying at all! If someone is treating you badly the boot them out of your life (even family) and then forgive them for their horrible behavior. It doesn’t mean you have to continue with that relationship. But forgive for your own sake and move on with your life. Don’t let it hold you back. Try not to wallow in it. I know it can be hard but again, you are only hurting yourself by doing that. The person that slighted you probably doesn’t give you a second thought and here you are living your life in revenge and misery for a person that doesn’t give a hoot about you. Don’t give them that power!


So, give it the Taylor Swift treatment and shake it off. We can walk this path together since I have some work to do with it as well. I know it is easier said than done to just let things go. But what you must remind yourself that you are only hurting yourself by hanging on to the bitterness and resentment. Don’t let other people dictate your happiness. Take control and get over it so you can live your best life. We will practice this together. It’s hard but I know we can do it.


It’s Monday! A brand new day of a brand new week full of possibilities! Monday has become my favorite day of the week (after Friday, Saturday and Sunday of course)! I no longer dread going in to work to deal with a co-worker who tries to bring me down. I am my own boss and doing my thing. I love what I am doing now and actually look forward to writing and recording come Monday morning. Don’t think you can get to the place where you love what you do every day? Neither did I! I will leave you with that thought. Now, go make it a great week and have your best day yet!


My website is live, people! Please check it out at hopefulist.com Listen to my podcast, available everyday at 7 am, for your Daily Dose of Inspiration and Positivity. Follow me on Facebook and Instagram for tomorrow's topics and where you can chime in too!


35 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page