top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Hopefulist

Get off the excuse caboose!


When it comes to our goals we often get in our own way. We make excuses for not getting things done. We let ourselves off the hook for not doing all that we can and should be doing. But what is even worse (for me, anyway) is when other people make excuses for me.


I was listening to a podcast yesterday and they were addressing the pandemic. In it the discussion went along the lines that we have never lived through something like this before so we have no standard to hold ourselves to. I think they were trying to give grace to those whose worlds have been turned upside down. That doesn't include me yet I can take their words and allow myself to sit on the couch and read all day. Inherently we know when we are doing what we are supposed to and when we are slacking off. I am slacking off and letting people make excuses for me. Don't do what I do! Be better than me! I'm trying to get back on track though.


There are still some big projects I'm working on that keep being put on the back burner? Why? Because they are hard! But I can do hard things. I have done them over and over in the past year and a half. I know you can do hard things too. We just have to sit down and do them. Or stand up and do them. Or figure it out and start doing. I have the luxury of a lot of time. I know most of you are not in the same situation. I can honestly get so much more done in a day than I do. Why don't I? Because I don't have to. I don't have a boss standing over me. I don't have a husband who gets on me for not producing results (or even cleaning the house as often as I should). So I slack off. I could be doing so much more. And I'm only hurting and disappointing myself when I don't do it. But I'm also letting my husband down. And I'm letting you down.


I also take all the excuses I can get when it comes to my weight and eating. I have had a rough time with healthy eating lately. I seem to be out of control. When I mentioned it to my husband one time he said that I was fighting a cold (I was) and it was probably my body's demand for food to heal. I love that he said that. But he just gave me an excuse to keep up with my out of control eating. I can also use the pandemic and the fact that we are still so far from where we all want to be as an excuse. Or the political climate. Or the nastiness I see in people everyday. I could find all kinds of excuses. I certainly don't need anyone making them for me. So babe, next time you see me eating crap...call me a fat cow!


As I said, I have a lot of time on my hands so I can only imagine how much easier it is for you (who are busy) to make excuses to get out of workouts or doing things around the house that need to be done. What it really boils down to is that we hurting ourselves when we continually make excuses about things we want/need to get done. We always get done what is required of us from bosses, school, what have you but we come up short when it comes to our own goals. Shouldn't that be the other way around? I know why it isn't but shouldn't our highest priority be to ourselves and our wants and desires? If we want to be fit we have to stop eating too much garbage and work out. Yes, it's hard. Yes, it takes self control and discipline. But it's also hard to watch that scale go up (trust me) and have your clothes get tighter and tighter. Why is it so difficult for us to take the harder path that will bring us joy? Why do we tend to go with instant gratification instead of an overall joyful, prideful life? Answering these questions may help spur the change you are seeking in your life.


What have you been slacking on? What do you need to get your butt in gear for? Make a plan. Call your shot. Write out how you will feel and live your life when you are doing what you should be and getting the result you want. A cheeseburger and fries can feel really good but so can attaining the goal you've been working so hard to reach!


It's Thursday! One more day to the weekend! What will you do to show your badassery today? Always know, that I'm cheering you on!

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Kommentarer


bottom of page