top of page
Writer's pictureThe Hopefulist

Get out of your head!


Today is the day! The day I've been waiting for. The day I've been dreading. It's my first speaking event and my emotions are all over the place. I have spent a lot of time preparing so my paralyzing fear is switching to excitement and then back to fear again. As long as I'm prepared I should be fine. I know this speech pretty well and I will have notecards to lean on if I happen to freeze up and get stuck. It's hard to say how nervous I will be when those faces will be staring back at me later today though.


This is when I need to get out of my own head and remind myself this isn't about me. I mean, the speech is about me. But it's not for me. I'm doing to this to help others. I want to share the wonderful knowledge I have about transforming negative thoughts into positive ones. It really isn't about how I come across or how well I do at speaking or if I'm funny or even if they like me. Of course I want to do well in all those areas but they really are secondary to the message I'm trying to get across. Deep breathes...it's not about me. It's not about me.


Obviously I have a lot riding on this. I intend to make this part of how I make a living. I have questioned that decision many times over the past month but I know I can do this and do it well. But it is frightening as hell at times. But the only way to get past your fear is through it. I'm talking about my favorite book in the speech...."You are a badass" by Jen Sincerco. She has another book out now called; "You are a badass everyday" and it's intended to give daily motivation. It's what the picture is from. In this newer version she talks about fear. She says when you have fear you should run straight at it. Fear hates when you do that. Isn't that great...I love it so much. So, that is what I will do. I'm running right at my fear. And what will help me is if I focus on the message and not on myself.


When it comes to doing something scary....can you get outside your own head and focus on the bigger picture? Can you remember the true purpose of what you are doing and why? That can help quell your fear and get you on the intended path.


With that said, I'm going to sign off. I have more practice runs to do! I may take the day off tomorrow. I'm definitely sleeping in but we'll see how long the dog lets me do that. If I'm up early enough I may jump on to let you know how things went. If not, I will talk to you Friday for sure.


Thank you for all the well wishes sent my way on this day. I appreciate them so much! Now, get out of your own head and focus on serving those around you. How can you help?


It's hump day people. Go out there and be a badass today. I know you can do it and of course, I'm cheering you on!

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page