top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Hopefulist

Give yourself some GRACE.


To end the week about our discussion of resilience I wanted to make sure you know that you can't be ON all the time. And when you aren't...give yourself some grace. It's so important to take the time you need to recharge, refresh and relax. This is not an excuse to not get things done. This is for when you truly need a break and you take it. Like my sick day this week. I have been fighting a cold for over two weeks. A bad cough, some sniffles, super tired. And I finally took a day to just sleep and recuperate. Because I did think, I can just get the podcast on and go back to bed. But my energy level was so low the thought of doing it was so overwhelming. Normally I would beat myself and berate myself. C'mon Wendy...you can record a 20 minute podcast. Suck it up and just do it. But I couldn't. So I went back to bed. And I slept an additional three and a half hours. I got up and read my book for a little bit and then went in for another nap. Another hour and a half. Guess I really needed to catch up on sleep. And guess what? I woke up the next day feeling so much better. I'm not cured but definitely on the mend. It was exactly what I needed to do so I will not beat myself up. And all your kind well wishes really helped as well. Thank you for allowing me a day to rest!


I'm reading a book right now (Winter Garden by Kristen Hannah) and a woman loses her father. For months she goes on about how she has to keep going and doing things to distract herself because if she stops to think about it she will lose it. This makes absolutely no sense to me. Of course you can lose it when you lose someone you love so much. In fact, I think it's necessary to take some time to just cry, scream and feel sorry for yourself. Get it out of your system. And although things will never be the same, you can move forward knowing you took care of yourself. These things have a way of making themselves felt at one point or another so do it in the most healthy way before you end up in the hospital.


If you've been relentless in your pursuit of all things make sure to give yourself time to relax. We tend to think we don't ever really need rest, especially when we are young but we do. It's great to have a goal and work really hard toward it but don't neglect the present in your quest for the future. It's okay to take a weekend with Netflix. Now that the cooler weather is here this is way more acceptable. Your body has a way of telling you when you need a break. Like my inability to get my podcast on one day this week. And once I listened to my body and went back to bed, it was all I needed. I was back strong and ready to work the next day. Not only did I get my blog and podcast done but I cleaned the entire house and washed every bit of linen to hopefully get any remnant sickness out.


However, don't use this as an excuse either. I took one day. You can take more than that but don't let it stop you from going after your goals. As with everything in life, there is a delicate balance. A line that can be crossed so easily. You inherently know what you should be doing as you know when you truly need a break. Work hard but take the much needed rest when it's called for. You know in your heart when it's time to work hard and when it's time to take it down a notch momentarily.


No matter where you are right now though, give yourself some grace. Have you been lazy and slacking lately? It's in the past now. It's okay. There's nothing to be done about it now. Just do better. Do what it takes to get where you want. And if you mess up, it's okay. Tomorrow is another day to crush those goals. Just get back on that train and keep moving. You can do it. I know you can. Because I know that you are a badass!


Happy cocktail Friday. Grab a cold one and enjoy. Have a fantastic weekend and be safe in whatever you do. I'll always be here....cheering you on.

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page