top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Hopefulist

Gratitude = love your life!


We all want to love our life. I think I can safely assume that is true. But there are so many people that don't. The number one way to make that more of a reality is with gratitude. I won't go too far deep today because I am constantly barraging you with how important it is to keep a gratitude journal. I will tell you though how it changed my life.


I started keeping a gratitude journal years ago when Oprah told me too because you know Oprah is my queen and I always do what she tells me. The problem is I didn't take it seriously. I treated it like a chore and it didn't do much for me. Once I started doing it properly it helped me to change everything in the way I viewed my life.


It's 3 to 5 things you are grateful for in the past 24 hours. It seems daunting at first. It will take you awhile to think of things. But once you get into the habit of it the items will flow. I still have trouble sometimes coming up with things but that is when I look around me and notice all the things I love. Whether it be my house, where I live, the friends and awesome neighbors I have, my diamond rings from my husband, my dog, the decorations at Christmas time, the fluffy throw on my couch. It's endless, really. It's okay to include the big things in your life you are grateful for like your house, kids, and spouse. The most important thing is to not repeat items. The goal is to look for things throughout the day to be grateful for. And be specific. Don't just say your kids. Find something specific that they did that you are proud of. Or how they make you feel? You get what I'm saying? Do you smell what I'm cooking? Are you smelling what I'm selling?


Once you think of these amazing things, feel the gratitude as you write them down. It's a way to relive that moment you are grateful for. It's honestly the simplest way to start loving the life you have right now wherever you are! It's such a good way to realize you already have so much more than you think. It's what starts you to focus on the positive in your life instead of immediately going to the things you don't like.


I didn't do a gratitude journal seriously for years because I thought it was kind of corny and hokey. I don't know why I was worried about how it seemed since I did it alone and no one ever saw me doing it but alas...I let that hold me back for years. So, here's the great thing once you start doing it right. You will no longer care how hokey or corny it seems because it works. It's making you happier. It's improving your life. In fact, it can make you love your life! And that's what we all want, right?


Give yourself the gift of gratitude this season. It will change everything. I promise you that. Have a fantastic weekend. Be safe in whatever you do. And of course, be badass! I'm always here, cheering you on!

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

留言


bottom of page