top of page
Writer's pictureThe Hopefulist

How do you get the life of your dreams


How do you go about designing a life you don't need a vacation from? It's not as hard as you think. I've already done it for the most part. But I want more. There is another way of life I want to live and I am reaching for it every single day.


I live at the Jersey Shore. That is what I've wanted to do since the first time I moved here 18 years ago. Believe it or not, there are quite a bit of full-timers who live at the shore year round. I love waking up to a view of the water everyday. I love being minutes from the beach to go see a sunrise whenever I want or take the dog for a walk. I love being in a position to host my friends and families and provide a little haven for them when they want to get away. Once I moved away from the area 14 years ago to take a job in my chosen field I've made it a priority to get back. When I got engaged I discussed with my future husband my dream to live at the shore full time and asked it he was on board with that. He was, thank goodness. It got to the point I thought I had to choose between my love for my career and a love for where I did. So, I did. I chose. I chose the shore. I gave up my career in radio and took all sorts of jobs before I was led back to radio. Then I got to live where I love and do what I love for a living. I had the love of my husband, good friends, family that likes to visit often because it's a vacation get away to visit me! I had it all.


Then I lost my job and I had to figure out what was next for my career. That is when I started this blog and this podcast. I love what I get to do everyday. It lights me up. It gives me purpose. It fills me with joy to help other people live a happier, more fulfilled life. People often say to me that they can't believe I do a podcast daily. Most podcasts are weekly. They can be a lot of work. If you are stickler for editing and making sure you sound flawless with no mistakes it can take forever to prepare. But I came from a live radio background and there was no editing there so I hit the record button and whatever happens, happens. There are times I lose my train of thought, can't find the right word, or say something goofy or stupid. But hey, that's called real life. We aren't all perfect and I will never try to pretend to be in front of others. Here is the main reason I do it everyday though, it's because I love it. I took the part of radio that I loved and combined with a desire to share my knowledge on how I became a happier person. I wake up full of joy everyday and that is what I want for you.


Here is what I want you to do. I want you to write down (yes, write it down) your perfect day. Not a vacation or holiday, a perfect day if you were just living your life. Draw from your experiences of what you love from vacation and special occasions and incorporate what you can into daily life. But if you could live out your days in any way that you wanted, what would that day look like? Start from the time you wake up and plan it out until the time you go to bed. Are you in the same place every night or do you want to wake up in different places as an avid traveler? Is there a spot that you love more than anywhere you've ever been? Is it feasible to move there full time and make it your home? Put as much detail into this scenario a possible. Then start working toward it. Make the decisions that will lead you to where you want to go. Where do you want to live? What do you want to do to bring in money? You can even still work for someone else and have a lot of freedom. I am reading a book called the 4-hour workweek by Tim Ferriss. It explains how you can go about gaining a lot more freedom from your typical 9-5. If you want to lesson your work hours, this is a great read.


I someday want to wake up in Europe for a month at a time. Spend a few weeks in Hawaii every year. Go to Florida in the winter months. And since I do what I do over a computer everyday I know I can do it from anywhere. That is my dream, that is my goal. But I have to start bringing in the money first. As some of you know, I'm not bringing in any money at all right now. I am very happy but I won't be when the bank tells us to get out of our dream home! But I am working on all kinds of ways to bring in money and someday I know I will have more than I ever dreamed of. It's just going to take some time. I am lucky in the fact that my husband makes enough to almost support our lifestyle. Not quite, but close. Things have been tight for us since I've been working at home but I have faith in what I'm doing. I'm also lucky that my husband believes in me and is supportive of my giving this business a go. He won't regret it. I'm only bringing this up to prove that it's not easy. I'm in no way saying it is. There are all types of things to consider but if you are striving for your dream life, you better get on it. I'm having my struggles but I know it will all be worth it. And if things don't work out as quickly as I hope, I will have to reassess and go from there. But whatever you do, don't put your dream life off as a pipe dream. You can make it happen. You just have to think about what you can offer wherever it is you want to be.


We all have special gifts to give other people. If you can figure out a way to make money at that then you will be well on your way. Write out that dream day and start brainstorming on how you can make it a reality. You can do it. I know you can, because I did.


It's taco Tuesday so grab a healthy taco. What is that dream you've been ignoring? Don't ignore it anymore. Breathe life into it. Make it a reality. And don't wait too long. Now, go make today, your best day yet.

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page