top of page
Writer's pictureThe Hopefulist

It's time to Feel Better!


Do you get up in the morning, look in the mirror and think you would have been further along in life by now? More successful, less anxious, making more money, feeling more contentment, experiencing more happiness? Me too. Almost everyday of my life for too many years. After spending most of my life feeling unsatisfied and unfulfilled, I picked up yet another self help book. This was probably the 74th book I had read on the subject. I have read almost all of them and they didn't really make much difference. I always felt inspired after I finished it but I rarely put the tactics they suggested into practice. And if I did, it didn't last long. In all honesty, I was lazy. I wanted a different life but I didn't want to have to do anything different than I was already doing. It seems silly to think things will just with that mindset. And that is just it. You have to get in the right mindset. One where you are willing to do the work, willing to take suggestions to heart, willing to feel a little uncomfortable and foolish, and willing to do thing differently to get a different life. This 74th book though is the one that broke through. The one that made all the difference to me and started my journey to a much better, happier life. Not only this book change my life, it started me on my own personal mission to help as many pessimists, like myself, see that they can too, change.


The book is "You are a Badass" by Jen Sincerco. I'm still not sure if it was because I needed to hit book number 74 for it to finally sink in or if she just broke it down in a way that finally made sense to me. But I believe MY biggest take-away from this book was this...be willing to try anything. I was in my mid 40's when I read this book and she urged readers to be willing to try anything, believe in anything and trust that good is coming to you. I knew that I had read 73 books before and nothing really changed. I decided to do what she said. Trust the process. Be willing to do that things that made me uncomfortable. And here is the real clincher, I finally did things that I had felt too foolish to do in the past. I embraced all of her tactics. I asked the universe for what I wanted. I put notes on my dresser saying things like "All the money I need is coming to me". I did affirmations. I did it all. They all didn't stick. But I tried them all and figured out which ones worked best for me and ones I didn't feel added enough to my life. This is all I ask of you in this challenge. Just be willing to try anything, even if you feel foolish.


That is where the challenge part of this comes in. I challenge you to check your mindset. How is it? Is it where you want it to be? If not, hang with me...we'll get it where it needs to be. Here is what I want you to do though in order to get a running start. Imagine yourself as a much older person, sitting in your home surrounded by your photo albums, favorite things and loved ones. What and who is there? What type of pictures do you want to be looking through in those albums? What are some of the things you want to have surrounding you? (I want books, books and more books and pictures of me from all over the world doing all the things I've always wanted to do) Put some real thought into this. What do you want to see? What do you need to do now in order to get to that place? How should you be living your life now in order to make the end the way you want to see it? Put as much detail in this picture as possible. Where do you want to be living? Who do you want to be with? How much money do you want to have? What type of career do you want to have left behind. What can you still be doing (if anything) that still helps people and gives you a sense of purpose. Take the time to figure it all out. Take the time to make a plan you can start now to get you where you want to go.


So you know, for my own personal path, my growth didn't take nearly as much time as I thought it would. Also, I'm at my happiest ever and money has been a struggle this past year so guess what? It's really not about money. I know you need enough to pay your bills and get by but you don't need the amount you think you in order to be happy. I included this picture of my backyard and my best girl. These two things along with my husband are the things that make me the most happy. Did I ever think I could live in such a beautiful place? Not until just recently. And then, it was hard. It was hard to buy a house that is in a somewhat affluent, sought after after with a beautiful view. But we did what we had to do to make it happen including a lot of sacrifices in our daily living. But it is so worth it. And when there are times that I can't get out of the house, there is definitely no place I would rather be. My daily life consists of my husband, that view and that furry face every day. Happy? You betcha. And this is my dream for you.


So what is it YOU really want? The time to ask this question of yourself is now. Because if not now, then when? Don't wait to start living your best life. Ask the questions, start a plan and get to living the life you've always dreamed of. It's up to you...You decide. And all this week we are going to get you in the right mindset. We will talk about perception, the way you currently live, and finding a purpose that will make life more worthwhile. Thank you for joining this challenge. If you find it helpful, please tell your friends.


By the end of the month I want you to have a different dialogue with yourself in the bathroom mirror every morning. Get to work on those questions and strap in the a glorious journey. Let's do this. Now, go make today, your best day yet!





12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page