top of page

Jackpot winners!


We have all hit the jackpot! Every single one of us that have had the luck to be born in the United States of America. Obviously, there are all sorts of disparities when it comes to where you are born, what circumstances surround your birth, where you grow up, the amount of money your family has and all types of other factors that determine our place in life. But it is likely if you were born in the country, you have food, shelter and basic necessities. Not everyone does, I realize that. But we all have an opportunity to better ourselves and achieve whatever we want. Some people will have to work harder than others. Some will want it more than others. But we all have a chance, even if we have to do things we don't want to do in order to get started.


There was a video making the rounds on social media from a church that showed a man waking up and jumping for joy that he had a warm bed and a roof over his head. Then he got in the shower and was astonished at the hot water he got to use to clean himself everyday. There was food on the table for breakfast and he walked outside and couldn't believe the luck he had to find there was a car for him to use to get to work. Does all this sound a little silly to you? Then you are likely taking the most basic things in life for granted. Especially since there are so many people all over the world that have none of these things. Do you feel that your shelter, food, electric, car and clothes are a given? What makes you more special than the majority of people on the planet who have none of those things? This is straight out luck of the draw. You got lucky to be born here and to take advantage (and for granted) all these luxuries in life. And once you realize that even the things we consider simple are things others would give anything to have, your life will start to change.


We all take so much for granted. And I mean all of us in this country. The sense of entitlement seems to be getting worse as well. I'm here to tell you, you are entitled to nothing. You are not owed anything. So many of us go through life with a chip on our shoulders, bitter that our neighbor, co-worker, sibling, cousin, friend has more than us. Stop expecting so much, be grateful for what you are already have and work from there. I've been very lucky in the sense that I never take my home for granted. I live on the water at the Jersey Shore and I appreciate my house and where it is every single day. I look out at the water and am grateful that I get to live here. My husband and I have worked hard to get here and to keep paying the mortgage every month but we are still lucky. Lucky that we have the opportunity to make this dream come true. There are so many people that would love to live where I do and I never forget that. But if I were a different person I would look at all my neighbors newer homes that are all updated and look spectacular. Our house is the original from when it was built in the 80's. It has the same floor, windows, kitchen and siding in a color that I hate (baby blue) but I choose not to focus on those things. Would I love a new kitchen? Oh, shell yeah. But meanwhile, I will continue to look outside at the view. And I will never take for granted the fact that I get to live here.


What are some things that you love about your appearance? Do you have great eyes? Or amazing hair? Maybe it's a good metabolism that keeps you thin. Do you have to wear glasses and really make a go of it with super cute frames? These are all things that you had no control over. You can change some of them around but what you got is what you got. So, if your eyes are an awesome color and really highlight your appearance, don't you feel lucky? It's a gift. And so is having a house with heat, AC, running hot water, a car, clothes, a job, food and money to spend. The faster you realize how lucky you are right now with whatever you have, no matter how unhappy you feel at times, the more your life will change for the better. Gratitude, gratitude, gratitude! I love it!


It's Taco Tuesday! Maybe we'll finally indulge in taco's on this Tuesday. I'm sure we are having a great week off. I hope your week is awesome too so far! Go on,,,be a big ole badass today. I know you can and you know, I'm cheering you on!

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page