top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Hopefulist

Journal your way through problems


We often have so much locked up inside of us that is affecting our way of life. We tend to operate life without realizing how much unresolved issues are dictating what we do each day. It's one of the subconscious things that we don't realize how much it is bogging us down until we finally release it. So how do we do that? Journaling is a huge first step.


One of the journals I have kept through the years is one specifically dedicated to free writing about things that are bothering or upsetting me. When I'm going through a tough time in my life I can free write about my thoughts and feelings and that in itself can be so freeing. Just get it out. You may have heard advice about writing a letter to someone you are upset with but not sending it. It's the process of getting those feelings out that is beneficial. Journaling is the same. You can work through some of your issues, figure out what the underlying problem is and even come up with solutions. It's a win all around.


This isn't something that I have done religiously but I should. I tend to only do it when I am struggling with something or upset about something specific. But it is always therapeutic. Just take about 10 minutes a day to free write. Get out those feelings of how that lazy, impossible co-worker made you feel today. Get out the annoyance at your spouse for not cleaning up after himself. Get out the frustration with the kids for never keeping their rooms clean. Like I said, as you write you often come up with solutions to your problems.


I have numerous journals filled up with trying to understand the dynamics of my relationship with my mother. It was a struggle my whole life to have a healthy relationship with her. Now that she is gone I still write about the how she left things with me and my coming to grips with that reality. I like to think the writing is helping to bring me some peace over the whole thing. I'm trying really hard to forgive my mother for what I feel like what her punishing me from the grave. (I'm getting there!) I'm sure it would take a lot longer if I didn't take the time to write my feelings out and try to work through them in that way.


As I mentioned earlier this week, we are so afraid to be alone with our own thoughts. I'm not sure if it's some sort of fear or just boredom but it's a habit we would all do well to get into. When you take the time to get quiet and look inside you will likely find the answers you are seeking. Spend some time with you. I'm sure you will get along great!


Happy hump day! I hope you have a fantastic mid point to the week. Go out there and be badass. I'm here, cheering you on!

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page