top of page
Writer's pictureThe Hopefulist

Lend a helping hand


Part of being grateful is realizing how well off you truly are and then you are in a position to share your blessings. Helping others is such a rewarding experience. It really comes in all different ways. You don't have to just give money to an organization in order to be charitable. There are all types of ways to be generous. I happen to like to see the fruits of my giving. Some call that selfish. I say, if that's what makes me selfish, I'm okay with that. I do like giving for the sake of giving but I also want to see that I brightened someone's day. I tend to be a big tipper. Yes, I consider this part of my charitable contributions. I used to be a server so I remember what it's like to get a big tip and have it make your day. I want to be the one to do that for people. I like to tip the gas station attendant (I live in NJ where we don't pump our own) from time to time. It's unexpected and usually met with a smile.


It's great to raise money for your favorite organization and if that makes you happy then keep doing it. Take part in any way you can whether it be financially or raising money by doing walks or scouting new ways to bring money in. I personally don't discount the fact that it makes you feel good. There is nothing wrong with wanting to see the benefit of your gifts.


I once lived on a billboard for seven days for a local charity. It was part of a promotion the radio station I was working for at the time. It was a long seven days. But the day we finally got down, it was the greatest feeling in the world. It was probably the most rewarding thing I've ever done. It's certainly an experience I will never forget. You can volunteer your time in all types of ways. Offer to pick up liter in the neighborhood, volunteer at an animal shelter, serve food to the needy, serve on a board that will help bring more finances into the group.


Or you can be charitable in your direct life. Do you have a friend that is going through a tough time? What can you do to lighten their load? Offer to watch the kids one night? Maybe bring dinner over or grab some groceries for them. Give them a gift that lets them know you are thinking of them and there for them.


Or get more involved in your community. I am part of a million groups on Facebook and in one they announced one of the group members is starting chemotherapy. They are asking for people to bring prepared food over so they don't have to worry about meals. Or there are events that take place that can always use volunteers. Do what you can with what you've got. Giving makes you feel good. And there is nothing wrong with that. Everyone wins!


It's poor Thursday. I will be taking the day off tomorrow to celebrate the holiday. I hope you all have a fantastic, holiday weekend. Be safe in whatever you do. Take some time to work a little more generosity into your life. You won't regret it. Go on out there and be a badass. You know I'm cheering you on!

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page