top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Hopefulist

Living with intention - Sleep


We are switching our focus to living with intention for the next four weeks and I'm so excited! This is when the real work comes in. This is when changes can seem daunting. But once you build new habits, it will be so worth it. This week we will focus on our health! Yay! It's not something I've talked about much in the past (except for how I try to eat healthy during the week and give myself a little leeway on the weekends. I know I talk about that all the time). But I'm going to be talking about everything from the importance of sleep to fitness and eating foods that fuel your body as opposed to zapping your energy. And self care of course! It's a big week! Are you as excited as I am???


When it comes to sleep...make sure you get enough. It's so tough to do, I know. But if you don't get enough sleep you can't function at full capacity. It's the first thing we throw out when we get busy. We just stay up later getting all our stuff done and still get up at the crack of dawn. You can't make sound decisions when you are lacking sleep. It throws off everything. It makes you eat foods that you don't necessarily need. It usually makes you grouchy and certainly not at your productive peak. We all tend to think we can skimp on sleep but how would you feel if you knew your surgeon was up all night getting chores done instead of getting the right amount of rest to be in top form? I know you likely aren't performing surgery but your boss or your business is just as important....whether it be for you or someone else.


When we get the proper amount of sleep we have the energy we need to face the day. We can face everything because we are in top decision making form. We are more clear headed and able to choose solutions to problems and come up with needed ideas to move projects forward. Lack of sleep bogs us down and puts us in slow motion. It takes up so much room in our brain because we can't focus on anything except how tired we are.


Look at my dog....blissfully asleep. Dogs and babies can sleep anywhere under any conditions. If only it were that easy for the rest of us! Prioritizing your sleep will help in so many ways. But mainly, it will refresh and renew your energy to get done what you need to throughout the day. We all want energy. We buy it in a bottle, in a pill and we exercise to get more of it but if we just got enough sleep we could get it naturally. I know it can be hard to get the required amount, especially if you have little ones. But if you don't prioritize your sleep, who will?


Is there a way you can get to bed an hour earlier? Just one hour. Instead of watching 2 hours of t-v, maybe watch only 1? Or set a nightly routine that will help relax you and prepare you for those zzz's. I tend to read while in bed to help put me to sleep. I love my kindle for this reason. I can snuggle up in bed without a light that would disturb my husband and read until my eyelids get droopy.


Do you have issues with sleep? Insomnia is a real epidemic in this country. I think because it's so hard for us to shut down our thoughts. I have had insomnia for the past 20 years. It's taken shape in all forms. I've struggled to get to sleep. Then there were times I could fall asleep easily but I would wake up in the middle of the night and not get back to sleep. I would sometimes lay in bed for 2 to 3 hours everyday before getting up for work. No wonder I was so moody all the time! What helped me and I'm not recommending or not recommending. I'm merely telling you what worked for me. Anti-anxiety medication. I was always against medication. I thought everyone has high and lows and you are supposed to work through them. But as I was in therapy a few years ago she told me she was worried the amount of stress I carried with me was becoming hazardous to my health. I talked with my primary doctor and he prescribed me something. Not only did my non-stop worrying get under control but I got my sleep back. I didn't even expect that but its one of the amazing gifts I've gotten since I went on this medication. It feels so good to sleep through the night. And if I have to get up to use the bathroom, I know I will get back to sleep now.


We all know how important sleep is but we so rarely do all we can to get the amount we really need. Make it a priority. It's so important. If you can figure this one thing out, getting your health in order will be easier. With all that said, I'm off to take a nap!


It's Monday! My favorite day after Friday, Saturday and Sunday. A brand new week of possibilities and opportunities. I hope you do great things this week. Especially getting enough sleep! Now go out there and be a badass. I'm cheering you on!

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page