top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Hopefulist

Love yourself - flaws and all


I'm not for everyone and that's okay! Keep in mind that everyone is not for you either. If there are people that aren't a fan of yours then just tell yourself they aren't your people. I'm loud, talkative, outgoing, competitive, opinionated and all kinds of things that people may not like. I come into a room and you know you I have arrived! There are people that don't like that, but then there are people who love that! Find your people!


Even before that though, you must learn to love and accept yourself. I know how impossible that can sound. Just a few years ago I didn't think it would ever be possible for me to like myself let alone love myself. But here I am...thinking I a total badass and killing it at life. Because here's the thing...they go hand in hand. You won't truly live into your best life until you love yourself.


That doesn't mean that you have to love every aspect of yourself or stop trying to improve characteristics that can be bothersome. But realize that you are the way you are for a reason and even a purpose. There may be aspects of yourself you don't like but it is likely or has served a purpose in your past. I've always worried way too much about what others think. I credit that with one of the reasons I've been able to keep my weight reasonable. Not that I haven't had times when I've had to lose 15 to 20 pounds (including now) but I can usually reign myself in at some point and take off the pounds because I don't want people talking about my weight. I don't really let this bother me like I used to but it certainly has served me well in the past.


When you can get to a point where you can recognize parts you may not like can serve a purpose too, you are on your way. Self acceptance is hard. It can take a long time to finally get to that point where you are okay with the person you are. As with most things we tend to focus on what we don't like. Whenever we start to be too critical about ourselves we need to counteract it with two or three things we love about ourselves. Nobody is perfect! Everyone has aspects of themselves they aren't crazy about. But I'm sure there is so much more to you that you are crazy about. I may be a reactive person and jump to the wrong conclusions at times BUT I'm also very responsible, hard working, loyal and a good friend.


It's okay to want to work on yourself and improve certain areas. Such as becoming more patient or less cluttered in your work area. Or anything you don't find to be appealing. But you are not just that thing. You have so much to offer. Never forget that. Downplay the bad and play up the good. Soon, you won't even be noticing the unattractive traits you used to worry so much about. You energy goes toward what you focus on so choose to focus on the good!


If you like today's episode please leave a review or share it with your friends! I would be so grateful for you!


Two more days till turkey time! Go on out there and recognize all the good you have to offer the world. And of course, be badass. I'm here, cheering you on.

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page