top of page
Writer's pictureThe Hopefulist

Making a commitment!


Just look at that face! When it comes to commitment, look to your pet. If they aren't the most consistent creatures on earth, I don't know what is. They are committed to running at you every single time you come home. They are committed to excitement whenever they hear the word walk. Speaking of which, have you ever had your dog NOT want to go for a walk? They are committed to the time they are supposed to be feed. Have you ever had them stare at you when you may be late getting their dinner down? They are committed to power naps and looking forward to company. They take their commitments seriously, as should we.


Yesterday we talked about consistency and today, it's all about commitment. It's our commitment that turns into consistency that turns into a habit. Why are you making this change? Write it down. Seriously, it's important. Because every time you feel your commitment waning, you have somewhere to go to remind you of why you decided to do this. I mentioned before that we are often more committed to others than we our to ourselves. Let's see if we can change that. We need to hold ourselves more accountable. Whatever that may look like for you. If you can already keep your word to yourself, great. You are way ahead than most of us. But we need to stop letting ourselves down so often. Because then we don't believe a word we say to ourselves. Our word, promises and guarantees to ourself is all a sham. And our brain knows that because we never keep the promises we make to ourselves. Why would it be any different now? This is where we need to change things up. We need to stop breaking our own promises. We need to know we can count on ourselves and what we say we are going to do. Our mind is a very fickle place and it believes the words we use and the actions we take. Or the fact that we don't follow up on ourselves.


If you've listened to me for awhile you should know my #1 rule. What is it? Never call yourself names. I mean, never...ever! When we call ourself an idiot because we did something "not so smart" our brain takes notice. Then it becomes common place for you to make a remark about being a bonehead or some such thing. And it starts to seep into our subconscious. Then we are operating on the theory that we are a bonehead without even realizing it. So, never call yourself names. It's important. You wouldn't call your kids stupid because they dropped something would you? Don't do it to yourself either. And while we are on the subject, stop being so darn hard on yourself. Why do we hold ourselves up to such impossible standards? We expect so much more from ourselves than we would ever from anyone else. What would you tell a friend that told you on Monday morning, I'm going to lose 10 pounds this week. You would probably tell them to try to manage their expectations and not set them set up for failure. But have you ever set such an extreme goal for yourself? You probably have. Maybe not to that level but one you would warn a friend against making.


Self talk is so important when it comes to commitment. You have to believe you can do it. You have to tell yourself over and over that you can do it. And if you fall off course, it's okay! Just get right back on course and keep going. That is another issue we humans seem to have. If it doesn't go perfectly (and honestly, what ever does?) we give up altogether. It's a silly theory. If I can't get it when I want it then I don't want it at all. C'mon now! This is why you should try really hard to keep your expectations reasonable. Don't aim too high, too fast. You will set yourself up for disappointment. But the goals you do set, make sure you achieve them. So be smart when you are setting them.


Here is an example I was mentioning yesterday. I know if I try to force myself to work out five times a week, I won't do it. I will feel overwhelmed and resentful making me want to quit altogether. So I do it three times a week. And you know what? That is better than no times a week. But on the days I do my workout I am committed to that days workout. I have been pretty good with not skipping parts of workouts in the past. I tell myself that I am only cheating myself when I do that and it's true. And once you skip a little part here and there, it becomes easier to do and you end up skipping more and more. I skipped one round of my full body workout last week. The very next time I worked out I thought toward the end....maybe I will skip these last two exercises. It's a slippery slope. So I didn't skip them and now I am committed to doing my whole workout whenever I do it. That way there is never a question as to what part I can skip today. The answer is always, none of it.


When it comes to commitment, think of those that inspire you with theirs. Your dog, your kid when they want a new pair of sneakers and how hard they are suddenly willing to work. What is it you really want? What can you commit to ? Start small and work your way up to more. If you start small and feel like you can take on more on a particular day, have at it. That is way better than taking on too much and falling short. Be kind to yourself. Be patient with yourself. And commit to yourself.


Already halfway through the week. Are you feeling committed? Are you feeling better? Are you ready to do the work? Let's do this! And make today, your best day yet!

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page