top of page
Writer's pictureThe Hopefulist

New Challenges = New Life




I was talking yesterday about being stuck in a comfort zone and being okay with that. I always thought that was the goal. You work really hard to learn all the things and then you can coast for the rest of your life. Life can easy, fun and relaxing. It's not a horrible way to live. Some people may strive that as I did for so long. But I discovered that I don't want to coast into death. I want to live life to the fullest. And the way I do that is by constantly challenging myself. It makes life exciting, rewarding and fulfilling. That's what I want. How about you?


I've talked about the fixed vs. growth mindset in the past. I had a fixed mindset all my life. I felt that I knew what I knew and that was it. I didn't try to learn new things because I figured it was out of realm of knowledge. I would tell myself; that's just not my thing. You ever do that? Once I realized that those who have a growth mindset never stop learning and never stop doing new things...in fact, they love learning and doing new things! What kind of craziness is that? But doesn't it sound so much more exciting? So I have adopted the growth mindset. I now know I can learn and do anything I set my mind to. And life has never been so fulfilling. I still get scared. I still get frustrated when I can't figure things out. But I either keep at it or I get help from someone.


So many of us go through this life numb. We just wake up, go to work, come home, have dinner, watch tv, go to bed and start over again the next day. Sure, there are vacations and parties and celebrations to look forward to. But what if everyday felt like a reason to celebrate? What if, when the alarm goes off in the morning you are excited about the day instead of waiting to just get back to bed again? Seriously, how many of you think when the alarm goes off....ugh, I can't wait to get back to bed tonight. How sad is that when you really think about it? You wake up looking forward to going back to bed. I'm not knocking sleep. I love sleep. But it shouldn't be the thing you look forward to most everyday. You are literally sleeping through life.


And why are we so careful about how we live our lives? I have always been so afraid to take chances. Why? Do I want to get safely to death? Yes, there are things to be afraid of but maybe we should be more afraid of not fully living while we are here. I don't know about you but I want to leave a mark on the world. I don't have kids so I have to do it in other ways. Mostly I want to help people realize their potential. To show that you are capable of so much more, you can do so much more, be so much more. You can live happily every single day. I know you can because I do. And I used to be miserable. If I can make the change, so can you. I want to show you and everyone how I did it so it can people do the same. Now that I have a new purpose in life, it has been so much more satisfying.


New challenges means new life. It's like a shot in the arm of your hum drum world. You can make all your days more exciting and rewarding if you get out of that comfort zone. Stop playing it safe. You are selling yourself short! And I don't want that for you.


So, get to it. What's next for you? I can't wait to hear about it and as always I'm cheering you on.


It's I wish it were cocktail Friday Thursday. Poor Thursday. Get out there and be a badass. And make today, your best day yet!

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page