top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Hopefulist

No more rushing...stop the madness!


Take the time to stop and smell the Merry Christmas wreath! It's the only the live green I have in my house so I take a big whiff every time I pass by it. It won't be around forever so I have to make the time for it now.


We are always rushing. Rushing from one place to another, from one task to another, from one meal to another. It's a vicious cycle that is really hard to break. But if we can figure out a way to slow down and take in the world around us a little bit more we will enjoy life so much more.


How do we do that you ask? I will tell you and you won't like the first answer. Stop hitting the snooze button! I truly believe this is the first step to getting your life under control. You go to bed with a plan. You plan to get up at a certain time that leaves you plenty of time to get ready, have breakfast, do your gratitude practice and enjoy some quiet time before the madness of the day takes over. But what actually happens? The alarm goes off and you hit that snooze button putting you behind schedule before you even get out of bed. How many times do you hit it. If you have the time to hit the snooze button then change the time to you actually plan to get up. First thing in the morning is not the time to be making schedule altering decisions. Pick a time and stick to it. Trust me, you will thank me once you get out of this horrible habit. You will know what time you are getting up and can actually stick to your schedule. It will be amazing!


Plan your day so you don't have a million things to do at once. If you have to run the kids all over after school then you can't stay late at the office. Or you if you have to stay late at the office see if you can get someone to pick the kids up at practice. But I beg of you to stop thinking you can do it all. You can't, nor should you. It makes you crazy! Learn to say no! It's so hard at first but also so freeing. Get your life back.


Once you stop over scheduling your life you can stop rushing so much. I tend to rush all the time whether I have somewhere I have to be or not. I don't know why. It's just my nature I guess. I race to get home. I race to get in and out of stores as quickly as possible. I rush my drive. It's awful. I'm missing out on so much. Stop hitting the snooze button so you can enjoy your drive to work looking at Christmas lights and decorations instead of panicking because you are late. Go to the store when you have to time to browse and wander around so you can find everything you are looking for and even more. Realize that home will be there waiting for you when you get there no matter what time it is.


We miss out on so much of everyday joys because we rush right past them. Look forward to the drive in the car. Listen to Christmas music. Turn on the seat warmers (I hope you have those...they are the bomb). Have a warm cup of coffee or beverage of your choice to enjoy while you drive. It can be such a nice experience if we allow it to be.


We tend to be even busier this time of year because we have so much more to do but it's also the time of year to stop and enjoy all there is to see and smell. It's certainly the most beautiful time of the year. I think we can all agree on that so don't waste it by rushing past it. Soon it will be January and everything will be bare and in a deep winter sleep. That is depressing. So don't miss this wonderful time. Take your time. Make sure to enjoy all that is around you. That's what it is there for! If you walk into an office building lobby everyday that has a massive tree and gorgeous decorations...stop to enjoy them. That is why they are there. Think to yourself that they put those up just so you personally could enjoy them. Don't have them waste their time. Take it all in.


You know those times that you go out specifically to look at Christmas lights and enjoy the sights and sounds of the season? Do that on some level every day. You obviously can't make a day out of it if you are heading into work but give yourself some time to enjoy all that is around. This is my wish for you.


It's hump day people! Where are your favorite decorations set up? Make sure to stop and stare at them for a moment today. Feel the appreciation for them. Now go on out there and be badass. I'm always cheering you on!

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page