top of page
Writer's pictureThe Hopefulist

Resilience!


Our focus on persistence continues and we can't talk about that without talking about resilience. The definition of that is...the capacity to recover quickly from difficulties. It's about toughness. How tough are you? Do you want to build that toughness muscle? I can help with that.


This is the best possible time to talk about resilience because this year has been hard. It's been a difficult one for everyone in one way or another. We faced the truth with how fragile our health can be. We've realized that even when we do everything we're supposed to, do all the things, something like a global pandemic can come along and wipe away everything. We've been encouraged to stay home. To stop the spread. We've seen everything in our world close. We may have lost our job because of it. We may have had to close our business because of it. We have had to adjust to a life of solitude. Normal is not a word we have used much this year. It's all different. And now that life is finally starting to get back to the way it used to be on the most basic level, a second wave is lurking. Yes, Europe if putting restrictions back in place. There is concern that this pandemic is far from over. It's time to dig in and see how we want the next few months of our lives to go.


What is different in your life? Are you still working? If not, did you find an alternate source of income? One of the only bits of good news this year is if you did lose your job there was all sorts of state and federal aid to help get you through. Take it from someone who has had to utilize unemployment several times....additional federal funds and extensions are the bomb. It's a cushion that is needed at this time with everything so uncertain. But what is your next step? Are you thinking about how you can move forward in the future? Are you a server, bartender, work in a gym, movie theater or somewhere else that may be subject to future closures? Are you considering another line of work that may not be so susceptible to such things? This is the time. Time to consider a line of work that isn't so dependent on these outside forces. It's time to use your noodle and think outside the box. What direction is the best one for you to move toward?


It's a scary time. I get it. I've felt it. Luckily for us, my husbands job is considered essential so we haven't taken the financial hit that many have faced. But what can you do or offer that is something only you can do? Is there a line or work you can pursue that is pandemic proof or recession proof? Is there something you can do from home that you never considered before? Or is there a way to benefit from the pandemic? Is there something you can do for others that people will pay for? Think about it. Consider all options.


The thing about resiliency is recovery. How do you recover when things go wrong? How do you bounce back? What are the next steps for you to take? How can you make yourself whole again? I am a warrior when it comes to resiliency, I am a champion. I have had to bounce back so many times in my chosen field of work. I'm in a field where jobs don't last a long time. There are also many factors that have nothing to do with how I do my job that can affect it. I have lost my job many times due to budget cuts (as is the case with a lot of us), contract disputes within companies, changes in ownership and various other reasons. And each and every time it has happened I have been left devastated. But I keep getting myself up, brushing myself off and getting back to doing what I do. Because it is my chosen field and I love what I do. There are people in my business who have had the same job for 20 years and that always makes me wonder, why them and not me. It's a question I will never get an answer to. But it makes me question whether I am good at what I do. Is that why I've had so much trouble in my career? Believe me when I say I have questioned that many times through the years. But the radio business if a tough one and honestly, only the strong can survive. I have come to the conclusion for myself that I am indeed good at what I do or I wouldn't have been able to work for the past 25 years. There are many people who don't get a shot at all in this business and I have made it work for me for most of my adult life. Yes, I'm doing something right. But every layoff is a blow. It always makes me question everything. But then I get back up and go again.


There is always another direction to go. There is always another way to consider. There is always something we can do. We just have to keep an open mind and explore every option. Don't get stuck thinking there is only one way you can go. That is absolutely untrue. There are a million different directions you can go. You just have to figure them out and then pursue them. It's not easy, it's not something that always works the first time around. But there are so many options available to you, you just need to figure out the best one for you moving forward. Your life is always in your hands. No one will take care of you like you. So do what you can to make sure you have as much control as possible.


Oh, it's Monday again. My favorite day of the week after Friday, Saturday and Sunday. It's a brand new week full of possibilities and opportunities. Now get to taking advantage of them. And be your badass self. You know I'm cheering you on.


This last time that I was let go from my job was particularly devastating. I feel as if I was treated unfairly. But hey, that happens all the time. So when I was questioning what I did and what went down and how I wanted to move forward I decided to do so in a way that I won't be subjected to such unfairness anymore. I decided to try working for myself. I do this podcast. I've been working on becoming a public speaker. Hello Covid? Yes, another curveball. But I have to keep pushing forward in ways that touch people, but not in person! It was something I needed to adjust to once again. There is always something that comes along that throws all our plans off track. That is when you go in another direction. When you assess the situation and see how you can either work around it or make it work for you anyway. One thing I have figured out for sure in the past year is there are all types of ways to make money other than reporting to work every day from 9 to 5.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page