top of page

Stop hurrying!


As we continue to focus on gratitude and mindfulness, closely related is the premise of not hurrying all the time. Is that you? Always in a rush? Rushing through all your tasks. Rushing to get to work, rushing to get back home so I can sit and watch t-v. It all seems so silly. Why am I rushing to the t-v? I understand you want to get home to your safe space and your family but we really need to learn how to take our time. Patience is especially hard for me. It is not my friend! But it is what we all need to learn to slow down and enjoy life a little.


One of my favorite things when I was commuting 45 minutes a day was the Fall. I love looking at all the colors change on the trees. It was such nice scenery for my drive. I would really take the time to look around and take it in. And not necessarily be in a rush to get off the darn highway. I often go out and sit on the porch first thing in the morning but I'm usually on my phone or making a to-do list. This morning I put everything down aside from my coffee cup. I was watching the day brighten and listening to the birds sing and the ducks argue with each other in the water. Just taking in the morning for what it had to offer without having to worry about what comes next. I know you are busy and you don't always have time for such things. But make time. It's these moments that stick with you. It's these moments you will look back on and be grateful that they happened and you were present and able to take advantage of it.


There's a story about a little girl being told to hurry up when getting dressed in the morning. Then she is told to hurry up when she is eating her breakfast. Hurry up and get in the car. At some point the mom says they will do something the girl likes later and the girl innocently asks...will we have to hurry? It makes you stop, doesn't it? These little humans often teach us so much. Yes, we have so much to do. But we have to stop rushing from one thing to the next or we will never enjoy anything.


Try to stay present and that will make patience a little easier. What are some of your favorite moments throughout your day? That first cup of coffee when you have a little alone time? The ride to work when you can listen to music or a favorite podcast? Dinner with the family? Or winding down at the end of the night? What can you do to give yourself more time to do what you love? How can you set it up so you won't have to hurry through it? What can you do to make your whole schedule a little less chaotic so you don't have to hurry as much?


Don't rush through life...it's not worth it. Figure out a way. It's Wednesday! Still on vacation but I'm still here for you. Go kick some major butt today. I know you can do it and of course, I am cheering for you!

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Kommentarer


bottom of page