top of page
Writer's pictureThe Hopefulist

The Power of keeping a Commitment


I kept a commitment to myself I really wasn't sure I could. I gave up carbs, sweets and alcohol for 28 days. Yes, I talked a good game. Yes, I think I came across as confident and sure of myself. Yes, I kept telling myself and you that I could do anything for 30 days (my original goal before I scaled back due to a gathering). But there were definitely some doubts I had in the deep recesses of my mind. I knew I could do it, yet I was afraid I couldn't at the same time. Does that make any sense?


What I do know for sure is the amazing feeling I have now that I actually did it. There were times when I saw other people's reaction to my challenge that I thought maybe I did bite off more than I could chew. When people would say things like....wow, I could never give up all of that at the same time. I was even talking to my niece about it doing dry January and mentioned I gave up carbs and sweets as well. Her reaction was...wow, you really went all in for January. It seems impressive. You know why? Because it is impressive. And I did it!


As women we tend to shy away from patting ourselves on the back. We downplay our accomplishments and say it was no big deal. Not this time...uh, uh. This was freaking hard but I did it. I am super proud of myself and I am shouting it out to the world. I did something that a lot of people wouldn't have even attempted. And I made it. Yes, I cut is short by two days but still. 28 days! I think that's pretty great and worthy of a whole blog celebrating me!


But even more than the pride is the feeling of accomplishment. I know now that I really can do anything I set my mind to. Don't limit the beliefs you have about yourself. You can do anything you set your mind to. And when you achieve it...it's one of the greatest feelings in the world. You just have to open yourself up to the possibility. I was recently told a story about runners and how for many years it was thought to be impossible to run a 4-minute mile. Nobody had ever done and no one really ever attempted it because science had said it was impossible. But one day, sometime did it. They finished a race doing a 4-minute mile. And something amazing happened after that. Other people started finishing a 4-minute mile. Once one person broke through that barrier of possibility other people attempted it as well and achieved it. Open up you mind to all possibilities. You will be really surprised what you can do if you truly commit. Once you do something you didn't think possible you will literally be unstoppable.


It's finally cocktail Friday, y'all. And I can partake as well! Yay! Think about something you would like to do but has always been afraid to try. Come up with a plan that will make it possible for you to succeed and then get to work. You will feel so good about yourself. Have a fantastic weekend and be safe in whatever you do. And go make today, your best day yet!



15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page