top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Hopefulist

Think outside the box!


Persistence. It can tough to keep going. It can feel like you are getting nowhere and cause you to lose momentum. This may be a good time to shake things up. Try something you have never tried before to get you the results you are looking for. People all tend to do things in the same way. Just because that's the way it's always been done and how most people do it doesn't mean it will work for you. Explore what will work for you. How do you make it your own?


Just because people have success doing something one way doesn't mean that is the only way. Take losing weight. There are a million different ways to make that happen. You have to figure out the best way it will work for you. You have to set yourself up for success. You know I love my girl Rachel Hollis but she talks about eating foods she doesn't like in order to fuel her body the way she wants to. I totally disagree with this. I think there are plenty of healthy foods you already like that you can concentrate on. Or if find something you don't hate and you can learn to like it more and more. This happened recently with me and avocado's. I didn't really dig them at first but within a few days...I feel like I can't start my day without avocado toast. It didn't take long once I gave it a chance. Rachel still drinks a green smoothie everyday that she hates but it fills her up and gives her the nutrients and energy she is looking for. She also goes on about how much she hates salmon but forces it down. I happen to love salmon but if I didn't, I would find another fish to eat or something equally as healthy. I also drink smoothies but so far they aren't green. I use a banana, some peanut butter and almond milk. Maybe I will start putting some spinach in there at some point and adding more to it. But for right now, it's still pretty healthy for the most part and way better than a donut or bagel.


It's the same when it comes to exercise. Don't try to force yourself to do things you hate or you won't do them. If you hate to run....then don't. Try dancing or pilates or yoga. I know a lot of people who walk everyday. I don't enjoy just walking. I much prefer to bike or kayak or weight lift. Or even do my home cardio workouts. If I ever get back to the gym I may pick up the elliptical again. But you also want to try things to see if maybe you feel differently than you used to. I really need to get out there and walk a little more often. Plus, the dog would love it. Once it gets colder, bike riding is out but I can still get a quick walk in. I don't think I'm much or a runner either but I should give it a go and see how I feel after. Our tastes and preferences change over the years so give all things a shot. If you really don't enjoy it...don't do it anymore. Yes, it's that simple.


How about when it comes to your routine. Is it time to shake that bad boy up? Do you rush to get out of the house everyday? What might happen if you gave yourself an extra ten minutes to enjoy a cup of coffee and wrote in your gratitude journal. What if you waited an extra hour when you got to work to check you email so you can plan out your day first and get the most important thing crossed off your list. Once you check your email you are now responding to other people's needs. Make sure yours are met first. Do you end up grabbing fast food on the way home from a long day? Would some meal prep on Sunday's help you avoid that? Yes, meal prepping is a pain in the butt, but so is continuing to eat crap food when you really want to add more healthy choices. So is having to go to the store to buy pants in the next size up. Life is always going to be a pain, just make sure you choosing the right way to endure.


Persistence is one of the hardest things to keep up. There will be times when you will feel like you are running in circles. But if you give up you will never get to your goal. You have to keep at it. No matter how long it takes. If you think five years is too long to reach a goal, think about how you will feel in five years when you still haven't reached that goal and aren't even working toward it anymore. It doesn't matter how long it takes. If it's important to you, keep at it. You have this one life. You want to live it right.


Oh, it's a football Thursday! Chiefs - Texans! Who else is watching????? Now, go out there and have a Thursday. Be your badass self. You know I'm cheering you on.

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page