top of page
Writer's pictureThe Hopefulist

Time to get silly! It's more fun than you think...


It's day 15 of the Hopefulist challenge! Are you all in? We are halfway there. Halfway to feeling so much better. This month we have been focusing on deciding it is time for a change. Deciding to do something about the life we are not fully satisfied with. Decide to live a happier, more fulfilled life. This week we are focusing on personal growth. Because you can't grow in any area of your life if you don't evolve as a human. That starts with you. What is holding you back? When are you at your most productive? What are some good habits you can add that will enhance your life and help you focus on the path ahead? We are going to get all into that. But first I want you to put aside all your fears, self-consciousness and limiting beliefs. Basically, be willing to feel foolish in order to make progress in your own personal growth. I know I've talked about this before but it's worth repeating because I believe feeling foolish or seeming uncool is what held me back for so long.


My favorite book. The one that changed my life forever. Say it with me....You are a badass by Jen Sincero. In the beginning she asks the reader to be open to anything and everything she suggests to improve your life. Why? Because you want a live you've never lived you have to do things you've never done. Makes sense, right? So just be willing to try anything. She also says in her book, if you decide everything suggested is crap...then just go back to your sucky life. But if you put your cynicism aside, you may just change your life....like I did.


That is the number one thing to get over in order to move forward. There are certain things that will make you feel silly. There will be things you don't feel like doing. There will be things that feel like work. But if you take that commitment muscle we built up last week and give me 30 days...I promise you will see how worth it it is. For example, the gratitude journal. I know a lot of you hesitate to do it. Because it feels like work. Of course it does at first. It's something new and you are not used to doing it. But once you get into the habit of doing it I believe you will not only mind doing it, you will look forward to it. So, do me this favor. If you haven't started the gratitude journal yet, I'm going to make it as easy on you as possible. Write down 3, just 3 things a day you are grateful for. Give yourself a 5 minute time limit. If you can't find all three in five minutes then you are off the hook for that day and back at it tomorrow. Can you spare five minutes a day on something I promise will change your life forever??? But you have to promise to stop taking things for granted and realize how blessed you are to have what you consider simple things. And promise to feel real gratitude for those things while writing them on your list.


The other thing I want you do is to "believe". Believe anything is possible. Believe you have what it takes to do anything you want. Believe there is a way to living the life you truly want to live. There are some deep-seeded beliefs you have about why you don't have what you want. You may think you aren't worthy. You may think you don't have what it takes. You may think you weren't born ambitious or big dreams are for other type of people. Remember, I was a pessimist and I thought all these things and much worse. And most of the time we have had these beliefs since we were children and they are controlling your actions on a subconscious level. If I can break through those and live the life I've always dreamed of, you can too!


We are only as good as we believe we can be. Has anyone ever heard of Roger Bannister? He is the guy who ran a 4-minute mile for the first time ever. He made history for this feat in 1954. Before then, science told us that it was impossible for a human to run a mile in four minutes. So, no one even really tried. It's impossible! Guess it wasn't. And the following year? 18 people did this impossible feat. All those runners had a limited belief that it was impossible to do something so they didn't even try. Once it was proven to be false, everyone tried and a lot succeeded. This is what I want you to do. I want you to write on your bathroom mirror (get those dry erase markers...it comes right off) that everything I want is possible for me. Or....I can have everything I want. Or...the universe is conspiring to make my dreams come true. And believe it. Read it every day until you start believing it. Put it on a post-it note and slap it on your computer. Or your fridge. Anywhere you will see it often. And keep repeating it until it feels true. Because it is true.


You know what you have to do. You have to be willing to feel silly. You have to be ready to believe anything and everything is possible. And you need to remind yourself of this as often as possible. What is your phrase going to be? Please share it with me on the group page.


It is Monday people! It's my favorite day of the week after Friday, Saturday and Sunday. A brand new week full of possibilities and opportunities. Now, go make big things happen and make today, your best day yet! I'm cheering you on!

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page