top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Hopefulist

We need more compassion


It seems there is a big lack of compassion these days. Empathy is when you can feel sorry for people and situations you have never been in. It's something I haven't been very good at my entire life. But I'm working on it. It truly is hard to understand another's point of view if you have never been in their shoes. All you really have to do is put yourself in their place or imagine someone close to you going through a tough situation. That usually helps to spread the compassion.


I know people who have been very against homosexuality until they found out someone they knew was gay. Suddenly it wasn't as big an issue as it seemed before. The thought that it was wrong becomes the realization that maybe someone's happiness is more important than ones principals.


I have suddenly developed lower back pain. And I can tell you, it ain't no joke! I know feel bad for all those times I've heard people complaining about their back pain and didn't give the adequate amount of empathy. I thought it couldn't be as bad as they said because I had never experienced it. I feel like a heal now. I'm sorry to all those I have poo poo'ed in the past. I now know better. And that is what Maya Angelou said...when you know better you do better.


It's a similar situation when it comes to judging people for transgressions they may have done in the past. Maybe it was cheating on their spouse, or taking drugs, or selling drugs. You don't truly know the situation until you are the one in it. I'm not making excuses for these behaviors. I'm really not. I'm just saying there may be and usually is more to the story than you realize. No one grows up wanting to be a drug dealer. No one wants to grow up being a drug user. Maybe a little more compassion for these situations would help solve some problems. For example, you may have no sympathy for those who overdose on drugs because you think they get what they deserve. Until you find out that it's your child that has the problem. A little compassion can go a long way.


Treating people with kindness instead of judgement can go a long way. I'm not saying people don't need to be held accountable for their actions. I believe they do...100%. But a little compassion and understanding can go a long way.


It's Thursday people. One week until Christmas Eve....yay! So go out there and be judgement free today. Give it a try and see how it feels. And make today badass. You know I'm here, cheering you on.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page