top of page
Writer's pictureThe Hopefulist

What we are so afraid of...


As we continue to talk about fear, we have to really discover what we're afraid of. What have been some of your biggest fears? What are some things that keep you up at night? Losing a job, a spouse/partner, money, how people see us? How people see us is the first fear I want to address.


I know I sound like a broken record but getting over my fear of feeling silly and/or what people thought of me has been the number one thing that skyrocketed my happiness. Not because I know longer worry about what people think about me. I do. But I care more about what I think of me. When we realize there are some people who are going to find negative things to say about us regardless of what we do, it's a lot easier to live our own purpose. Who cares if someone thinks what you are doing is silly? Do you think it's silly? Then, you do you! I wake up full of excitement and enthusiasm every day. It doesn't get much better than that. In fact, I feel kind of bad for those who won't embrace personal growth because I think they are missing out on the best part of life. The one that comes with satisfaction, fulfillment and pure joy. If people think that is silly, then I think I don't need to worry about what they think.


It's not easy to make the switch. You don't wake up suddenly not caring at all about what people think of you. It's a process. But the quicker the process, the quicker the happiness comes along. According to my buddy Brendon Burchard, there are four types of fears. And one of them is the fear of rejection. That is what we're talking about today. He says; "Acknowledge that most people probably won't get you and won't understand your path. That's okay because most people are on their own path. You don't need their support in everything you do." He goes on to say...and I really love this; "Once you no longer think that other people owe you appreciation, honor, respect and cheering on, rejection is not so scary." And he's right. Once you get know that some people won't get what you are doing, it no longer has power over you. You do you and let others do them.


What are you afraid of when it comes to doing what it is you really want to do? What would you be doing right now if you knew for sure that no one would be judging you? Once you get over your fear of rejection, you can start moving toward doing what it is you've always wanted to do. You can make plans to address the biggest fears in your life and do it in the way that is best for you. It's not the solution to all your problems and getting over all fears, but it's the best place to start. Stay tuned, more to come!


It is Tuesday! Anyone having tacos? Enjoy! Go do something today that scares you. You can do it. I'm cheering you on! Now go make today, your best day yet!

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page