top of page
Writer's pictureThe Hopefulist

You have come so far!


As women, we often feel guilty about tooting our own horn. I'm here to tell you to toot away! We always seem to focus on what we lack instead of what we have accomplished. Depending on your age, I'm sure you have been through some crap. And you've made it through. You are still here! You may not be exactly where you want to be but as you move into the future have faith in who you are and all you've already done.


Faith. That is what we are talking about this week. Faith in ourselves. Faith in our abilities. Some call it confidence. Let's take today to look back on everything we have accomplished in our lives. Focus for a moment on how far you have come instead of how far you have to go. I attended the Rise Live conference over the weekend. I know you all know this. Part of the teaching was a section where we wrote down a what if statement. My examples were in regard to the course I've been working on and getting ready to launch for what seems like forever. What if I can't sell it. What if people don't buy it. What if people don't like me or the way I teach. These are my fears. But I can flip it around to make it more positive. (the purpose of the hopefulist) What if I DO sell it. What if people DO buy it. What if people love it and tell all their friends about it?! Why do we tend to focus more on the negative than the positive? I don't have the exact answer to that yet but I'm working on it.


When you are tackling something new or something you've never done before, remember how much you have already accomplished! You are likely now at a place at one time, you only dreamed of being. Whether that be your relationship, your career path, the type of parent you are, or where you live physically. It's human nature to want more than we have. So, look back. What do you have in your life now that you didn't think would ever be possible. I was told I would never be able to afford a house at the shore in my lifetime because of how expensive they have gotten. Guess where I live? It's not in the exact spot I dreamed of but it's pretty darn close. I wake up and see the water first thing every single day. I see boats go past my house all day long. It's my dream come true. I have gotten pretty good (thanks to my gratitude practice) at reminding myself of how much I love what is in my daily life. I still look around my house in awe and can't believe I'm lucky enough to call myself a home owner. I look at my health journey and although my food choices are far from perfect, I eat a heck of a lot healthier than I used to. I also rarely binge eat anymore which used to be a regular happening for me. I have learned to turn to other comforts when feeling emotional. Do I slide sometimes and eat a half a bag of Doritos? Yes. It's one of the reasons I don't keep them in my house...lol. They are a trigger food for me. I know myself well enough now to realize I'm better off leaving them on the shelf in the store. I'm also at a place where I can leave candy in my cabinet and eat one piece at a time slowly over time. Something I couldn't have done years ago.


Where are you at? How are the relationships in your life? Are you growing as a person? How well do you know yourself know compared to a few years ago? Look back and feel some pride at where you are and how far you have come. Here is what I would like you to do. Write a letter to yourself naming all your accomplishments. All of them. EVERY SINGLE ONE! I hope this is the longer exercise you ever do. Toot your own horn. Leave nothing out. From the way your style has developed over the years to starting a routine to take better care of yourself to your relationships and career path. Include it all. And read it. Over and over again. Every time you start to feel bad about yourself, read that letter! And give yourself some grace. We are all a work in progress. We do what we can, when we can with what we know. Keep at it. You are doing great. You are still here! No matter what you've had to go through in your life...you have survived! And not only do I believe you will continue to survive but I know you can thrive. It's all up to you. How you talk to yourself. What you believe about yourself. The confidence you have in yourself. And faith. Always have faith. Faith in yourself, your abilities and that good things are coming your way.


It is Tuesday. Keep working on yourself. You are worth it! And I believe you are capable of whatever it is you want in life. Just keep striving and thriving. I'm cheering for you. Now, go make today...your best day yet!

17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page