top of page
Writer's pictureThe Hopefulist

Compassion


As we continue our focus on gratitude, part of that is having some compassion. When we see people who are different than us, I think it's natural to shy away. We tend to judge situations we don't understand dismissing it as "just wrong". Such as homosexuality, transgender and even those who merely look different from us. It's so easy to sit back and judge but it is when we get close to someone in one of these situations that we finally want to learn and have a better understanding.


Along with compassion comes empathy and I have said many times that is any area I struggle with. I'm very compassionate but it is sometimes tough for me to put myself in another shoes. To truly try to understand what people go through that is different from my experience. I've been working on it. I want to be better. The way to start doing that is to truly put yourself in someone else's shoes.


It's so easy for us to sit back and judge a woman who stays in an abusive relationship dismissing it because she chooses to stay. Meanwhile, she may have been mentally abused to the point that she truly believes she can't survive outside the relationship. She has been convinced by her partner that she will never find anyone else who will put up with her shit. I heard that from several boyfriends in my lifetime. But the way we start to understand is to talk about it. If they are open to it, ask questions. See it from their point of view and offer help in any way you can.


Part of being grateful for what we have in our lives is being compassionate with those who don't have as much. When you truly feel lucky to live the life you have, compassion usually follows. Not everyone is lucky enough to be happy in their circumstances and being judged for their choices usually doesn't help any situation. Maybe if we offered to help a little more often instead of judge, we all would be a little better off.


Just try to put yourself in someone's shoes who are completely different from you. It will likely help you understand more of what they go through. Then you can educate others or at the very least, stop making rash judgements about people you don't understand. We aren't all the same. How sad would it be if we were? But we are all more alike than we are different. And we are all in this thing called life, together.


It's #cocktailfriday y'all! Is it just me or did this week fly by? I'm gonna jump in my bathing suit and get my sun on. Hope you have a fantastic weekend and be safe in whatever you do. Now go be your badass self. You know I'm cheering you on!

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page