top of page
Writer's pictureThe Hopefulist

What are you waiting for???


50 and Fabulous! That's me! This is Me! All my favorite sayings from all my personal growth teachings. As we wrap up personal development week, I want to implore you to get moving on it, now. I don't know why we all tend to put off our own happiness. We always bargain with ourselves that we will start when this happens or that happens. How many of you are waiting until quarantine is over to start working on yourself? Are you putting your head in the sand and just waiting until the all clear is called? Don't misunderstand me. I am not diminishing the fact that some people are facing some really hard times right now. If you are facing financial hardship, I am not talking to you. But I do hope if this is you, you are trying to figure out a way to move forward and make money in a different way. But I completely understand that some of you don't know where your mortgage payment is coming from or where food is coming from. The good news is there is a lot of help being offered right now that isn't normally available. That is something to be thankful for.


For the rest of us, we are just trying to navigate through the feelings, anxiety and worry we feel in these uncertain times. We are in week 7 of lock down now. We need to stop acting as if this is going away soon. 7 weeks. Have you been doing nothing but binge watching t-v during this time? Have you been eating your way through? Have you given up on your workouts completely? I heard someone say recently some of us are treating this like the holidays. We rationalize that we will start with a better routine and get back to business when quarantine is over. Do you know when that will be? You need to start now! You need to figure out what it is that will bring you more happiness and start working your way toward it. And how to bring in money from this point on. It's time to get busy and get to work.


I get that there is still a certain stigma to personal development. You don't want to talk about it with your friends. You don't want people to see you practicing it. You probably don't even want to admit that you feel you need it. But here is the secret. Once you finally embrace it and embrace it fully, you will be so happy you won't care how it looks. I am 100% serious right now. I know that some people snicker behind my back. I know that people mock me about how I am and what I do. Guess what? I don't care. Honestly. Do you know why? I'm happy. Their approval has no bearing on my happiness. This is what personal development helps you to realize.


I picked this picture to post today because I just turned 50. I'm the happiest I have ever been. But it makes me sad that it took me so long to figure it out. I hope to help others figure it out sooner and make it happen faster than it took me. I am content in the fact that at least I did finally figure it out. I know what it will take to make me happy for the rest of my days. It's way better than never being able to figure it out at all. Because I've seen that too and it's really sad.


Follow the tips I've gone over all this week. And here is what I want you to consider over the weekend. What is it you really want? What is it that bring you more happiness to your daily life? What can you do right now to start making that a reality? And if you are waiting, what are you waiting for?


It's finally #cocktailfriday y'all! Hope you get a chance to grab a cold one later today. Have a great weekend. Stay safe and put some thought into your ultimate dreams. You have the power to make them happen...and I am cheering for you! Now, go make today your best day yet!

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page