top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Hopefulist

Adding value to your life


Life is not all about the small things but it is the small things that can bring us great joy if we allow them. For some reason we feel silly getting excited about little things. It is those things though, that we can enjoy often and feel that more excitement in our lives. I’ve learned a lot in my transition from pessimist to Hopefulist and I believe one thing that has made a huge difference in my how happy I am is how enthusiastic I am about the small things. If you get excited about small things, the more opportunities you have to get excited and the happier you feel. Make sense?


Look around you right now. What do you see that you love but often take for granted? Are you at home? I’m pretty sure you put a lot of thought and effort into how you wanted it to look. When you were done you were more than likely very happy and excited about how it turned out. How often do you just look and appreciate what you created? Look around in awe at how awesome you made your home.


Do you have a favorite throw for your couch that you just love to snuggle under? If not, then get one. And every time you see it and use feel the love you have for it. I finally got some new dishes this year. I had gotten some I wasn’t really crazy about when I registered at the time I got married. I couldn’t really find something I like and I felt pressure to put something on the list. So, I’ve never really liked them. I found some dishes I just loved a few years ago and bought a couple of plates. I always used those plates first. I didn’t want to spend the money on a whole set though. After two years I finally did it. It’s such a small thing but it really made my meals better. I no longer think; man…I hate these plates, whenever I have a meal at home. Surround yourself with things you love and you will love your life. If you keep paying attention.


I was having a hard time finding a coffee brand that I liked. I was drinking the pumpkin flavor from Wawa most of the fall and when that was no longer available, I found my regular coffee to be less than satisfactory. My husband got me some blueberry coffee for Christmas and I am mixing it with a regular blend. It’s enough that I love my coffee again in the morning. I look forward to it. Why would you drink something every morning that you didn’t truly enjoy? That’s what I was doing.


Are you in the car right now? Remember how excited you were when you got that car? How often do you think about how much you love and rely on your car? Does it have awesome features that make your commute more comfortable? Do you have heated seats? If not, get them! The most amazing invention! I have a remote start and am grateful that I can start that cold boy before I have to get in it. I leave the defrost on high and hope any frost on the windshield will be gone by the time I get to the car.


How about at work? Do you have a spot to call your own? Then make it your own. Fill it with your favorite things. Put pictures that made you think of your loved ones throughout the day. Think about all your job does for you. It brings you money to get the things you want in life. It likely (hopefully) gives you a sense of purpose. It helps you achieve goals in your life. Be appreciative of all the wonders you job/career brings into your life.


You know how I love Christmas lights and put them up as early as possible. A couple of years ago my husband got me a string of battery-operated lights. They’re small and red and I put them around the table in my entryway and put them on all year long. A little Christmas joy whenever I want. My husband has often joked it was the best, cheapest gift he’s ever gotten me.


Here’s the other thing too though. You have to allow yourself to feel the joy. If you aren’t used to getting excited over a cup of coffee it may feel weird. That’s okay. Keep at it. It’s the enthusiasm that makes all the difference. Don’t take anything for granted. I know, that’s a tall order but start taking more notice of all the things around you and really allow the excitement to take over you. It’s not all about the small things but the more excited you get about small things the more excitement you will have in your life.


It’s “I wish it were cocktail Friday” Thursday. One more day to the weekend. Hang in there. And get excited today. About anything and everything you can. I bet it will be a great day. Now, go make it your best day yet!


A discussion of today’s blog post is on my daily podcast posted every weekday by 7 am. Find it at Hopefulist.com or through Apple, Spotify, TuneIn or YouTube. Just search for “The Hopefulist”!


Please check out my website. It’s your one stop spot for everything “The Hopefulist”. Hopefulist.com.


14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page