top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Hopefulist

Always be YOU


It’s a holiday week. That fills some of you with joy while others may feel a sense of dread. Family dynamics can sometimes make gatherings a little volatile. If you are one of those people who are made to feel less than when around certain family members, remember this… be you, always. If you like who you are then nobody else’s opinion matters. Yes, of course you want to be liked. Even more, you want to be accepted but if that isn’t the case…be happy with who you are and try to let other’s opinions and comments on your life roll off your back. I know, easier said than done!


But here is what I want you to do. Pick a picture of yourself that you love. Make it a favorite in your photo’s or redownload it to keep it in the forefront. Every time some one is making you feel bad about yourself, look at that picture as a reminder that you like you. That you are happy with you. That you are who you are and that is good with you.


I picked this picture of me with Dave Hollis from my recent Rise business conference. He is the husband of Ms. Rachel Hollis and is a big part of the company they have together. He was the MC of the whole conference. He always had a speaking portion about his new book that is coming out. He is a celebrity for sure in my world and I really wanted this picture. I have talked about before how I basically hunted him down like a stalker to get this picture. He was in the crowd taking selfies and he was one section over from where I was sitting (of course). So, when I saw him leave that section, I walked down the concourse, caught up with him as he went into another section and was first in line when he started taking selfies again. I got my shot! Am I proud of my stalker ways? Not necessarily. I’m not ashamed of them either. And I was so excited to get the pic I showed it in the picture and now it is one of my all-time favorites.


When it comes to my own Thanksgiving celebration, we will be spending it at my sister in laws house. It’s always a little uncomfortable for me to spend time with my husband’s family. Though they’ve never said it I feel like some members of the family don’t really like me. It’s not even that they don’t like me, I think…I believe it is more about my voice they hear in their brother now when it comes to decisions having to do with the family. My husband always just went along with whatever the family wanted in the past and now I point out to him that isn’t always in our best interest as a family. I think they may be resentful of that. I could be wrong and nothing is ever brought up in front of me but it’s always in the back of my mind. So, if need be, I will pull up this picture of me and Dave to remind myself that I love who I am and no one will stop me from being me.


If you are spending time with in-laws like I am then you always need to tread lightly. You must be respectful of the fact that this is not your family and what you do will affect your spouse. So, try not to take anything too seriously. If someone says something you don’t like, think before you spout off and cause a scene. Don’t fall into a trap that will turn you into the bad guy. Be above it. Pull your phone out and find that picture. It will help ground you and remind you that what they think doesn’t matter that much.


If you are spending time with your own family and you feel the need to put someone in their place, have at it. But also keep in mind who else is sitting at the table and how it will make them feel to witness such back and forths. It can be pretty uncomfortable to be in the middle of these things. Just keep in mind that if you mother typically makes remarks that annoy you then it will probably be the same this holiday. Prepare for it. Be ready for it. Let it roll off your back. Surprise the crap out of her by not getting upset or even responding at all. Yes, I’m telling you to be the bigger person!


Keep all of this in mind while you eat your face off! Yes, I am highly in favor of eating way too much on this holiday. Just look forward to the good food and hope you get through it quickly. Then take a big bundle of leftovers and get the shell out of there!


It’s Monday! My favorite day after Friday, Saturday and Sunday. It’s a short week but still full of opportunities and possibilities. So, go out there and make things happen! And look for a picture that will remind yourself of who you are…no apologies! This is Me! Now, go make it your best day yet!


Please check out my website. It’s your one stop spot for everything “The Hopefulist”. Hopefulist.com.


8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page