top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Hopefulist

Be kind to strangers


There is something about doing the right thing and being kind to others for no other reason than being kind, that makes us feel so good about ourselves. Yet, we still do it so rarely. It doesn’t have to be something huge that will take a lot of money and time. It can be something as simple as holding the door for someone who is a little bit behind you or complimenting someone on their shoes or handbag.


At one of the radio stations I worked for we were linked to a charity that helped families with children that had cancer. It is still in operation and does things like provides gas and lodging to parents who need to travel back and forth to the hospital. They help with utility bills and grocery bills since one parent normally must give up their job to take care of their child. It’s a great organization and I was proud to be a small part of it. The biggest fundraiser every year was through the radio station when one or two of the on-air DJ’s would live on a billboard until they raised 98-thousand dollars. I ended up being on the billboard for 6 nights and 7 days. It was the longest week of my life. But the feeling I had when we were finally able to come down and go home was euphonious. I did something great that really helped so many people. My boss at the time told me it was more than likely my ticket to heaven and I would be good from that point on…lol. I’m not saying you have to do something like this but what always strikes me is how great it made me feel yet I still don’t donate my time to charity. I do donate money from time to time to certain charities including this one. But I’m talking about more than this.


I often over tip my server or bartender when I am out. I feel this is a form of charity as well. I was a server for many, many years and bartended as well. I know how much a great tip can make your day. I’m happy to be the person to do that. If they deserve it.


There are all kinds of studies saying that generous people are happier people. Have you ever been part of a pay it forward loop at a coffee drive through? You know, when the person in front of you pays for your drink too? That has never happened to me but I’ve seen friends talk about it on Facebook. It is nice to be able to do something for someone that can’t pay you back. When I lived in my condo we had a neighbor downstairs who was physically challenged and there were a couple of times I cleaned off her car when it snowed. I don’t’ think she ever realized I did it because she had a family member come to do it and probably just thought it was done by them. It doesn’t matter…I just wanted to do something nice and I did.


Offer to help an older person with their groceries when loading up their car. Have a ton of leftovers one night? Offer some to your neighbors. My neighbors often tell me when they are running to the grocery store and ask if I need anything. Isn’t that nice? Speaking of neighbors, we have lived in our house for three years now and love our neighbors. We started having an annual neighbor BBQ the first summer we were here and it gets bigger every year. Everyone brings a side dish and usually a bottle of wine while we provide the main course. It gets us all together and we usually have a really good time. It’s just something nice to do and everyone seems to appreciate it.


These are just a couple of things you can do to spread a little more kindness in the world. Wouldn’t it be nice if everyone could do just a little extra to make a difference in someone’s life?


It’s hump day. We are halfway to the weekend people. Make sure to spread a little kindness today and make it your best day yet.


Listen to me discuss this topic today on my daily podcast available at Hopefulist.com, on Apple, Spotify, YouTube, and TuneIn. Just search for "The Hopefulist"!


My website is up and running everyone! It’s your one stop spot for everything “The Hopefulist”. Please check it out at Hopefulist.com.


7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page