top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Hopefulist

Being kind to those who are unkind


I saw a news story yesterday that showed a young girl posting a video to Instagram putting her small dog inside a dryer and turning it on for about 5 seconds. After she hit the power button, she proceeded to bust out laughing and then let the dog out saying she was sorry to the pup. She wasn’t sorry. This was a very intentional act and she found it hysterically funny. It makes me so sad and sick to my stomach. She is being investigated and I hope they find a better home for that poor pup. If she is doing stuff like this on camera, I can only imagine the treatment the dog faces when the camera is off.


It is beyond me how people can be so cruel to helpless animals that don’t deserve such horrid treatment. It makes me feel bad for the humanity and lack of it in this world. Dogs are some of the happiest and most loyal creatures on earth and I just can’t fathom people treating them so harshly. People who are cruel to animals are a special sort of deranged and I fear there may be no helping them. But that leads to my next area of discussion. Being kind to those who are unkind. It may be the hardest to do but those are the people who need kindness the most.


This is something that is very difficult for me personally. I don’t react very well to people who are being unkind to me for no reason. It happens. I know. But just because someone is having a bad day, I don’t think they should spread that to me. It’s not my fault. Now, you are ruining my day. That seems very unfair. But alas, this is an area I need to grow. I realize that people are going through all sorts of stuff we know nothing about. But maybe when faced with animosity we can reach out with kindness? Maybe just ask if someone snaps at you if everything is okay with them? Like, I said, it’s a tough one for me. I know it is something I can work on though.


I guess the theory is that by showing kindness it demonstrates that people do really care. That even when you are being a rude, awful person there are people who still find you are worth being kind to? We all have bad days and have our moments, but I try very hard to not take out my bad moods on people who have nothing to do with it. So, it’s hard for me to understand. If I feel you are the reason for my bad mood…well, that is a completely different story…lol. But we are supposed to be the bigger person, right? Right? This one is tough for me. But I’m trying…I’m growing. I mentioned earlier this week a bartender that was impatient with my ordering. I didn’t handle him with kindness. I didn’t say anything to him but I was quite annoyed that I was being treated rudely by someone who is supposed to be nice to me by nature of their job. He was busy and I wasn’t completely ready with my order. I didn’t feel that called for a rude response. I didn’t say anything but I didn’t tip him either. I almost never do that. But it irked me. Maybe I should have been more compassionate because they were so busy. But that isn’t my fault. Again, I’m working on it.


Is this something you already excel at? Can you give us less evolved people some tips…lol? I will try harder. Because in the end it’s better to be kind. It’s better to look back on a situation knowing you did the right thing. It’s better to not stoop to their rude level and know that any perceived slight you had will be forgotten in minutes. Don’t let yourself be treated like crap but maybe just let a little more things roll off. In the end it is more important to be kind. Let’s work on it together!


It’s “I wish it were cocktail Friday” Thursday. Spend a little time thinking about those who need your kindness the most today. And go make it your best day yet.


Listen to me discuss this topic today on my daily podcast available at Hopefulist.com, on Apple, Spotify, YouTube, and TuneIn. Just search for "The Hopefulist"!


My website is up and running everyone! It’s your one stop spot for everything “The Hopefulist”. Please check it out at Hopefulist.com.


10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page