top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Hopefulist

Embrace the wisdom


There is a lot to dislike about getting older. We don’t look the same, we don’t feel the same and time seems to go even faster. But we have learned so much over the years. We know who we are and what we want. We don’t care what other people think about us anymore. We are ourselves and live exactly the way we want and should have always done. We couldn’t have gotten here without the trials and tribulations we have all gone through. It’s a necessary evil. We all probably have some things in our past that we aren’t proud of but it has shaped the person we have become.


I remember a line from a movie once that said we should be born old and get younger. But we don’t know anything until we are older. That is why the older years are often the best years. Because of the wisdom we have gained and the knowledge that we will never know it all. I remember talking to one of my mom’s friends at a party when I was around 23 saying I used to think I knew everything and now I realize I don’t really know anything. He said to me…congratulations, you are growing up.

Have you ever gone through your lifetime of pictures? I had huge boxes of pictures from through the years and one winter I decided I was going to go through them all and put them into albums. When I was finished, I showed it to my husband and he said, you have had a pretty amazing life. Yes, I have…I’ve been lucky. But there is so much more to come. It’s a great way to remind yourself of all the chapters of your life. There are so many when you look back. And the realization of how much you learned from each chapter.


We get better as we get older. It’s a fact of life. I was talking to my niece Samantha yesterday about the new Taylor Swift album coming out and I told her that she said on GMA that she plans to rerecord her first six albums since she doesn’t technically own them. I said I didn’t think they would be the same. Samantha said, they will probably be better. She has gotten to be a better singer over the years. I replied that I thought she was awful at first…mostly when she sang live. My niece agreed saying…she was definitely not good. My point is…Taylor has come so far because she has learned. As we all do. We not be international pop singers but we have learned things that have made our lives much better.

So, the next time you get down on the fact that you are growing older remember how much better your life is now that you have so much knowledge and wisdom. Life has to be better now, doesn’t it???? If not, you are doing something wrong. Don’t live in the past. It won’t help you now.


It is indeed a cocktail Friday! So, grab a cold one. The weather is going to be amazing this weekend. Get it all in….it’s the second to last weekend of unofficial summer. Think about how far you’ve come in this thing we call life. Have a fantastic weekend and be safe in whatever you do. And make it your best day yet.


Listen to me discuss this topic today on my daily podcast available at Hopefulist.com, on Apple, Spotify, YouTube, and TuneIn. Just search for "The Hopefulist"!


My website is up and running everyone! It’s your one stop spot for everything “The Hopefulist”. Please check it out at Hopefulist.com.


13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


bottom of page